Started on: 10-05-2019 10:11 PM
Replies: 35 (620 views)
Last post by: Jake_Dragon on 10-25-2019 07:02 PM
blackrams

Feedback score:    (9)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 229
Rate this member

Report this Post10-05-2019 10:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for blackramsSend a Private Message to blackramsEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You may have a problem.

https://www.msn.com/en-us/a...gv7h?ocid=spartanntp

How Grappler Aims to End Police Chases Safely (W/Video)

Are you easily mesmerized by reruns of World's Scariest Police Chases or compelled to click on YouTube pursuit videos? One such all-night binge session, ending with a video of a serious T-bone crash with a civilian, left Leonard Stock unable to sleep. Restless, he germinated the idea for a tool to help law enforcement officers end such chases more safely.

His idea was a vehicular lasso to grab a perp's vehicle by the tire. A roofing contractor by trade, Stock was naturally handy and a proficient welder, so he began prototyping the concept on his own vehicle. He quickly confirmed his theory that a moving vehicle's spinning tire would indeed pull a loop of tow-strap material around itself if said strap could be forced into firm contact with it.

That prototype led to many iterations, all of them self-financed by Stock and his lucrative house-flipping business in the booming Phoenix metro area. His final Grappler design uses 2-inch nylon webbing with a 20,000-pound test strength; in many instances it's doubled for a 40,000-pound capacity.

The webbing forms a "ladder" net of sorts. The sides of the ladder are about 5 feet long and consist of doubled-up webbing with metal rings that connect to six 52-inch-wide "rungs." The front-most rung includes some pads to improve tire engagement in the rain.