Steering has play in it by JOHNSALAS
Started on: 02-02-2021 09:57 PM
Replies: 7 (186 views)
Last post by: Patrick on 02-04-2021 05:33 PM
JOHNSALAS

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-02-2021 09:57 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JOHNSALASSend a Private Message to JOHNSALASEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello guys, I'm a newbie to the forum. I just picked up a 85 GT 5sp.. there is alot of play in the steering, I can turn the steering wheel more then a 1/4 of the way around before the tires start to react, and thats both ways from dead center. What could it be? The tie rods are good I checked them.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierosound

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 286
Rate this member

Report this Post02-02-2021 10:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Welcome aboard!

84 - 87 steering racks are all the same (88 is similar)
You could try adjusting the preload on the rack bearing.
//www.fiero.nl/forum/A...030819-2-036047.html

------------------
My World of Wheels Winners (Click on links below)

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT and Super Duty 4 Indy #163

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 02-02-2021).]

JOHNSALAS

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-02-2021 10:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JOHNSALASSend a Private Message to JOHNSALASEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I will try that! Thank you
reinhart

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-03-2021 05:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for reinhartSend a Private Message to reinhartEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post