My Engine Temp Creeps Up at Hiway Speeds above 80 MPH by Cadiman1949
Started on: 01-05-2021 06:34 PM
Replies: 10 (562 views)
Last post by: olejoedad on 01-07-2021 10:33 AM
Cadiman1949

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-05-2021 06:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Cadiman1949Send a Private Message to Cadiman1949Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello All,

I have a question about my 1988 Fiero. I've done a V-8 swap and installed a 4T60 Automatic Overdrive transmission. I've got the car running really good... so good that I get 25mpg running the car 80mph on the freeway. I've been working on the car for many years and I've got it standing tall! What I am experiencing is when I drive the car at over 75mph the engine temp creeps up ever so slowly but it does not stop going up until I slow down or get off the freeway all together. When I get off the freeway they temp just falls back down and stays right at thermostat temp. Now I am a very experienced mechanic with 35 years experience and it is my feeling that I am getting an air-lock behind the radiator. I have no vents installed on the hood so that air coming across the radiator has to make a 130 or 140 degree turn downward to exit the radiator area to go under the car. I am getting ready to pull the hood off and run it at freeway speeds again to see what happens. I expect it will not try to run hot. Has anyone else had this problem with a V-8 swap? I've installed the stock electric fan, a high quality 4-row brass radiator and a high volume electric water pump. The car runs perfect in city driving but it's those higher freeway speeds that are giving me a challenge.

------------------
Rick
3rd Street Restorations

Albuquerque, NM

[This message has been edited by Cadiman1949 (edited 01-05-2021).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Raydar

Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 460
Rate this member