Started on: 10-22-2020 01:52 AM
Replies: 8 (520 views)
Last post by: Iain on 11-06-2020 09:21 AM
Patrick

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 458
Rate this member

Report this Post10-22-2020 01:52 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Although I'm working on my Subie, this question probably pertains to any caliper rebuild, including Fieros. So please bear with me.

First, an admission. I've been working on cars for 50 years, but I've never rebuilt a brake caliper. Ever.

I discovered that the left rear caliper piston of my '98 JDM Subaru Impreza STi was starting to bind due to the rubber boot being torn and the protruding edge of the piston becoming corroded. With the car being JDM (Japanese Domestic Market), it's always a challenge trying to find parts... but that's a rant for a different forum. Anyway, I got what I believe to be the correct caliper rebuild kit. The rubber boot is correct, but I wasn't sure about the internal seal. The OD of the piston is 38mm, whereas the ID of the seal is at least 39mm. If anything, I thought the ID of the seal should be slightly smaller than the OD of the piston.

Is it usual for the replacement seal to be larger than the caliper piston? Does the seal get compressed somehow when it's installed in the bore? Or do I simply have the wrong seal?

Please help a "newb" out!
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
theogre

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 568
Rate this member

Report this Post10-22-2020 02:58 AM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Assuming the main seal is in the caliper before piston...
Main seal is a bit compress by the caliper and might be right size when installed. Then piston compress it a bit more to seal w/o binding.