Repairing Reflectors for New GT Lenses by V8Steve
Started on: 07-08-2020 09:10 PM
Replies: 4 (168 views)
Last post by: V8Steve on 07-09-2020 07:59 PM
V8Steve

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-08-2020 09:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for V8SteveClick Here to visit V8Steve's HomePageSend a Private Message to V8SteveEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I purchased a set of Keith Goodyear's amazing lenses. Since I have a spare set for my 88, I decided to put the lenses on the spare set. I intend to write a review later but I'm just getting started.

I showed the photos below to Keith and he suggested I post them. So here goes.

The original reflectors came from our 87 car. The silvery chrome plating was all gone and they were really black inside, a real mess. Now they look like new.

I sanded all reflector surfaces with a piece of 3M PRO GRADE P220 and made sure I got every cranny and left nothing out. The black surfaces remained and it left a dull finish. Then I sprayed Fantastic on all the reflector surfaces as well as the entire unit and let it soak for a few minutes. After a thorough flush with a garden hose I let it dry in the sun.

I used this paint in thin coats, 3-4 coats. Recoat time is only a few minutes. Carefully spray a light coat each time and it transforms in seconds to an amazing finish.

Here's the result:

------------------
88GT 355 CI Sequential Holley Multiport , AFR milled 180, Dyno'd at 427 HP, 320 WHP
anderson@gdsconsulting.com

[This message has been edited by V8Steve (edited 07-08-2020).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
theogre

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 567
Rate this member

Report this Post07-08-2020 11:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
No surprise how bad they were.