Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Am I an idiot for trying this? (Front 87 Bumpstops)

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Am I an idiot for trying this? (Front 87 Bumpstops) by Threedog
Started on: 05-30-2020 10:03 PM
Replies: 10 (280 views)
Last post by: cvxjet on 05-31-2020 01:02 AM
Threedog

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 62
Rate this member

Report this Post05-30-2020 10:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ThreedogSend a Private Message to ThreedogEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have a 1987 Fiero that I lowered 3/4 of an inch. Problem is that it was then riding on the bumpstops. The solution is to shorten the bumpstops!

The problem is I am a really crappy welder, so I was not sure that I could effectively reweld the bumpstops when I cut them. I came up with another solution...

I found solid rubber plugs at Home depot and shaved them so they would fit.

Then, I screwed them in! (They are also "stuffed" in with a mallet and are in there good and tight, the screws were just a backup)

My questions are twofold:

1. Is this going to fail right away? Am I a total idiot for thinking this would work?

2. What are the consequences if this does fail? Am I going to do any irreversible damage?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Patrick

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 458
Rate this member

Report this Post05-30-2020 10:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by Threedog:

Is this going to fail right away? Am I a total idiot for thinking this would work?

Hard to say. I don't think Pontiac ran any tests with your modification.

What are the consequences if this does fail? Am I going to do any irreversible damage?