Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  What does "Ignition" mean for Instrument Cluster Wiring?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
What does "Ignition" mean for Instrument Cluster Wiring? by sjmaye
Started on: 05-21-2020 06:09 AM
Replies: 5 (119 views)
Last post by: theogre on 05-23-2020 11:54 AM
sjmaye

Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-21-2020 06:09 AM Click Here to See the Profile for sjmayeSend a Private Message to sjmayeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am troubleshooting my instrument cluster. The service manual is good, but I thought a photo of the back of the instrument cluster would help me more. I am tracing the connections. The manual indicated some contacts as "Ignition". I am no electrician. In working on cars I am used to +12v or ground. These idiot lights need +12V on one side and ground (I assume) on the other. Can someone tell me why the manual calls these contacts, "Ignition"?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Cajun

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-21-2020 07:12 AM Click Here to See the Profile for CajunClick Here to Email CajunSend a Private Message to CajunEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
12 volts is applied when the ignition switch is turned to the "ON" position.
sjmaye

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-21-2020 07:15 AM Click Here to See the Profile for sjmayeSend a Private Message to sjmayeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by Cajun:

12 volts is applied when the ignition switch is turned to the "ON" position.

So, in the case of the SES light. Does that mean the SES contact is the ground and the "Ignition" contact +12V?
Gall757

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 88
Rate this member