3.8 supercharged by Castlerocco
Started on: 03-30-2020 10:57 AM
Replies: 6 (319 views)
Last post by: hnthomps on 03-31-2020 08:43 PM
Castlerocco

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-30-2020 10:57 AM Click Here to See the Profile for CastleroccoSend a Private Message to CastleroccoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I'm looking at a 1997 Pontiac GTP with a supercharged 3.8, as a donor car for the engine swap. The car doesn't have the transmission, so I'll use my 4 speed. How hard or ready is it? I'm an aircraft mechanic, so I have skills. But I don't weld.

------------------
Rocco:
My Project
86 Fiero SE, Stock 2.8L, 4 speed

[This message has been edited by Castlerocco (edited 03-30-2020).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
qwikgta

Feedback score:    (21)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 84
Rate this member

Report this Post03-30-2020 11:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for qwikgtaSend a Private Message to qwikgtaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
its not that difficult to attach the motor/trans to the cradle. i've done a few swaps and never had to do any welding. if you make your own mounts, you may have to weld, but I got mine from West Coast Fieros, they need some "tweeking" but are a bolt on. pulling the old motor/trans, getting the engine bay all cleaned up, doing some painting to make it all look nice can all be done in a weekend. Putting the new motor/trans on the cradle (with pre-made mounts) and modifying the serpentine system (low mount alt) is another day. Long pole in the tent is the electrical, you can buy a pre-made harness or build your own. I've made a few using the pinouts on Sinisters website and asking questions in the Tech section. Lots of folks have done this swap and will provide you with all the data you need. Exhaust is something you can have done locally so you wont have to do any welding there. All in all you can do the whole swap without a welder.