Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Reverse gear

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Reverse gear by M.aaron80
Started on: 03-14-2020 10:01 PM
Replies: 16 (232 views)
Last post by: pmbrunelle on 05-23-2020 11:44 AM
M.aaron80
Member
Posts: 41
From: Toledo Ohio
Registered: Apr 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-14-2020 10:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for M.aaron80Click Here to Email M.aaron80Send a Private Message to M.aaron80Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have a 86 gt 4 sod. I did a getrag 5spd swap. All gears work but reverse.no grinding or weird nosies. I did see the master cylinder has a small leak behind the pedal but clutch pedal still slightly firm. And the rod in the slave cylinder don’t seem to be moving. Could be worn out slave?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
wftb
Member
Posts: 3588
From: kincardine,ontario,canada
Registered: Jun 2005


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-15-2020 01:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for wftbClick Here to Email wftbSend a Private Message to wftbEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If you have the original 4 speed shifter you need to remove the reverse lockout mechanism from the shifter. If all the gears work without grinding or having to push really hard to go into gear with the engine running you do not have a hydraulic problem.

------------------
86 GT built 2.2 ecotec turbo
rear SLA suspension
QA1 coilovers on tube arms

[This message has been edited by wftb (edited 03-15-2020).]

IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 29665
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 439
Rate this member

Report this Post03-15-2020 01:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by M.aaron80:

All gears work but reverse.no grinding or weird nosies.

...the rod in the slave cylinder don’t seem to be moving.



I don't understand how any gears "work" if the slave isn't moving.

IP: Logged
M.aaron80
Member
Posts: 41
From: Toledo Ohio
Registered: Apr 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-15-2020 09:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for M.aaron80Click Here to Email M.aaron80Send a Private Message to M.aaron80Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes I have the original 4spd. and I have the 5spd floor shifter installed. Yes this is throwing me for a loop about it working
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 29665
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 439
Rate this member

Report this Post03-15-2020 10:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by M.aaron80:

Yes this is throwing me for a loop about it working


Ummm... I think we've got us a communication problem here.

There's no way ANY of the gears are going to shift properly while the engine is running if the slave isn't moving... unless the clutch is somehow stuck disengaged.
IP: Logged
M.aaron80
Member
Posts: 41
From: Toledo Ohio
Registered: Apr 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-16-2020 12:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for M.aaron80Click Here to Email M.aaron80Send a Private Message to M.aaron80Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
*UPDATE* slave cylinder does seem to be working but the rod inside of it is not fully extending. Maybe this is because the leak in the clutch master cylinder? Also I did not have the rod that came with the with the 5spd slave cylinder so I used the rod from the 4spd slave. Any difference?
IP: Logged
wftb
Member
Posts: 3588
From: kincardine,ontario,canada
Registered: Jun 2005


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-16-2020 01:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for wftbClick Here to Email wftbSend a Private Message to wftbEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The slave rod on my 86 only moves about 1.25 " roughly. When the hydraulic system developes a leak it usually causes more air ingress than fluid leaking. But the air in the system is what causes the rod to not move very much. Pitting in the slave cylinder bore is what causes most air ingress.

------------------
86 GT built 2.2 ecotec turbo
rear SLA suspension
QA1 coilovers on tube arms

IP: Logged
M.aaron80
Member
Posts: 41
From: Toledo Ohio
Registered: Apr 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-16-2020 04:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for M.aaron80Click Here to Email M.aaron80Send a Private Message to M.aaron80Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have a new clutch master on the way. The rod moves about half inch. Is the 5spd shifting pattern 1 3 5 on top row and 2 4 R for the bottoms row?
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 29665
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 439
Rate this member

Report this Post03-16-2020 07:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by M.aaron80:

The rod moves about half inch.


Not nearly enough.

 
quote
Originally posted by M.aaron80:

Is the 5spd shifting pattern 1 3 5 on top row and 2 4 R for the bottoms row?


Yes.

[This message has been edited by Patrick (edited 03-16-2020).]

IP: Logged
M.aaron80
Member
Posts: 41
From: Toledo Ohio
Registered: Apr 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-18-2020 02:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for M.aaron80Click Here to Email M.aaron80Send a Private Message to M.aaron80Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
*UPDATE* if I push the lever for the cable that moves side to side it will go into reverse gear. Clutch master cylinder has been installed. I did buy the slave from Facebook market. The rod inside of it is only moving half inch
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 29665
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 439
Rate this member

Report this Post03-18-2020 03:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by M.aaron80:

The rod inside of it is only moving half inch


Travel required at the slave is 1-1/8" minimum.

Does your clutch pedal hit the floor?

There are literally hundreds of threads here re-hashing hydraulic clutch issues. Look into bleeding procedures, bent pedals, etc.

 
quote
Originally posted by M.aaron80:

I did not have the rod that came with the with the 5spd slave cylinder so I used the rod from the 4spd slave. Any difference?


If the 4spd slave rod is shorter (and I don't know that it is), it's possible your slave is reaching the end of its outward travel before the clutch is being disengaged.

[This message has been edited by Patrick (edited 03-18-2020).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
M.aaron80
Member
Posts: 41
From: Toledo Ohio
Registered: Apr 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-18-2020 03:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for M.aaron80Click Here to Email M.aaron80Send a Private Message to M.aaron80Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I will check al that out. Also I am using the shifter arm. (With the knob on it) that was from the 4spd shifter. Is this a problem?
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 29665
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 439
Rate this member

Report this Post03-18-2020 03:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I wouldn't think that the shifter arm would make any difference... as long as it has free range of motion.
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14188
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 277
Rate this member

Report this Post05-22-2020 05:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
M.aaron80...

Did you get this clutch thing sorted out?
What was the final solution?

------------------
My World of Wheels Winners (Click on links below)

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT and Super Duty 4 Indy #163

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 05-22-2020).]

IP: Logged
pmbrunelle
Member
Posts: 3319
From: Grand-Mère, Québec
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 54
Rate this member

Report this Post05-22-2020 11:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for pmbrunelleClick Here to Email pmbrunelleSend a Private Message to pmbrunelleEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Patrick:
Travel required at the slave is 1-1/8" minimum.


I banged my head trying to bleed my clutch over and over again to hit this commonly cited number.

I ended up with something like 3/4" of travel on my Muncie's slave. The clutch works great on my car (for now).

[This message has been edited by pmbrunelle (edited 05-22-2020).]

IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 29665
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 439
Rate this member

Report this Post05-23-2020 12:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by pmbrunelle:

I ended up with something like 3/4" of travel on my Muncie's slave. The clutch works great on my car (for now).


"something like"? I know you've got enough skillz to get a more exact measurement than that.

My experience is that an Isuzu absolutely requires over an inch of slave travel, whereas a 5-spd Getrag requires less. I have no direct experience with a Muncie 4-spd, but I'd wager a lot of money that a half inch of slave travel would not be enough to properly disengage the clutch.

 
quote
Originally posted by M.aaron80:

I did buy the slave from Facebook market. The rod inside of it is only moving half inch.

IP: Logged
pmbrunelle
Member
Posts: 3319
From: Grand-Mère, Québec
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 54
Rate this member

Report this Post05-23-2020 11:44 AM Click Here to See the Profile for pmbrunelleClick Here to Email pmbrunelleSend a Private Message to pmbrunelleEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
My previous Fiero had the Isuzu, and I think your 1" figure makes sense for that.

On my Muncie, I was measuring the slave travel during the bleeding process, and the clutch didn't work right when there was only 1/2" of travel. I'm sure I had a more exact figure when I was doing the bleeding job, but that was a few months ago, so I forgot the details! I figured I'd post my approximate travel (for the Archives, and future responses to people seeking help) here before completely forgetting everything.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock