1984 Fiero SE 2M4 Sudden Idle Spike/Surge by Sanhino
Started on: 01-16-2020 09:23 AM
Replies: 22 (583 views)
Last post by: phonedawgz on 03-24-2020 10:37 PM
Sanhino

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-16-2020 09:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for SanhinoSend a Private Message to SanhinoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
First off I want to say thank you for everyone that's posted before since this a treasure trove of information! I'm 26 and got my Fiero in August and have slowly been picking away at the issues. It's my first project car so it's been a great learning experience so far, however one of the last things I haven't been able to figure out however is this idle surge.

Occasionally when the vehicle is idling it will spike from about 1,300-1,400 rpm to between 2,500-3,500 rpm without any notice (at least from what I can tell). I've replaced the plugs, checked the spark plug wires, replaced the fuel filter, the spray seems consistent without any visible large droplets, I have checked the vacuum hoses visually and although they're old I haven't seen anything, I've held an unlit propane torch along the hoses to see if it would spike and it seems fine, I replaced the EGR gasket and tested the EGR and it slides fine, I replaced the IAC valve, the TPS seems to be working fine, and I have a new MAP sensor, so at this point I'm more or less out of ideas, unless it's the ECU.

When it idles normally it runs fine (albeit loud due to the exhaust leak), and is able to drive 60+ miles at a time seemingly without issues. It sounds like other people have run into this issue but a combination of the things I've already done have been their solution.

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Bonus Pic: The Project

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 90
Rate this member