Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Sat For 20 Years...Need Help With Diagnostic For Rough Running / Stalling (Page 1)

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

This topic is 2 pages long:  1   2 
Previous Page | Next Page
next newest topic | next oldest topic
Sat For 20 Years...Need Help With Diagnostic For Rough Running / Stalling by CampyBob
Started on: 01-09-2020 07:28 PM
Replies: 54 (1027 views)
Last post by: CampyBob on 02-19-2020 06:16 AM
CampyBob

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-09-2020 07:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CampyBobSend a Private Message to CampyBobEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
OK, first post so forgive me if I'm in the wrong topic area. Mods move at your pleasure.

I've been a design engineer for 40 years and I'm the guy that designed all the Fiero suspension arm dimensional gaging and tooling for Pontiac and Entech back in the day. Back when GM was throwing millions at stuff like that...private jets, topless restaurant dinners, gallons of booze...but, that's another tale for another day.

Anyway, in doing all that work on the Fiero project I got hooked. Actually, I was hooked when I saw the prototype Fiero's while touring the new 'Vette factory back in 1984. So I bought one. A brand new silver 1985 2.5, 5-speed. I loved it.

Then life changed. I eventually moved out to a farm and in 1999 drove my Fiero out to the new house we had just built and parked it in the garage. 27K miles on the clock. Looks like new. Underside is spotless. No rust anywhere and probably the best storage conditions this side of a heated, dehumidified room. Put a breathable car cover on it and life went flying by me. If you've done the math the thing sat without even so much as the doors being opened for 20 years.