Tuning preference: HPTuners; EFILive? by SteveMushynsky
Started on: 11-16-2019 05:29 AM
Replies: 14 (541 views)
Last post by: SteveMushynsky on 12-17-2019 01:20 PM
SteveMushynsky

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-16-2019 05:29 AM Click Here to See the Profile for SteveMushynskySend a Private Message to SteveMushynskyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am a noob looking forward & anticipating learning about and implementing tuning of a stock LHU or LTG 2.0 turbo motor with E39, E39A or E80 ECU as part of a future swap project.
Light engine mods possible down the road, but stock first.
Learning is the objective and I wish to go down the tools & software path best for me. I'd hate to invest in tools and/or learn use of software only to find later that I should have gone down a different path.
Any suggestions or advice to get started right?

------------------
Steve Mushynsky

1984 Fiero 2M4
34K miles

1986 Fiero SE I4 (donor now)
Lots of good miles. One very bad mile.

1987 Fiero
Tried to kill me (gone to a 'better place')
Prior owner failed to tighten a bolt. Trailing arm separated at 70 mph

[This message has been edited by SteveMushynsky (edited 11-16-2019).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fieroguru

Feedback score:    (45)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 258
Rate this member

Report this Post11-16-2019 10:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fieroguruSend a Private Message to fieroguruEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Both HP Tuners and EFILive have forums where people talk about issues with swaps, tuning limitations, etc. They also normally list what applications they support and sometimes have free demo downloads so you can open up the software and specific calibrations.