Click here to visit The FieroStore | View all sponsors
  Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Automatic Northstar owners...

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Automatic Northstar owners... by Trinten
Started on: 11-07-2019 09:29 PM
Replies: 10 (165 views)
Last post by: Will on 11-12-2019 08:58 AM
Trinten
Member

Posts: 734
From: Mebane, N.C.
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-07-2019 09:29 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TrintenSend a Private Message to TrintenEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I've been trying to skim threads of folks that have done the Northstar swap, but it seems many have gone over to manuals.

Has anyone kept the 4T80E ? If so, what shifter cables (or parts cobbled together) did you use?

Any pictures or thread links would be appreciated!

Thanks!

IP: Logged

IXSLR8
Member

Posts: 664
From: East Happy Valley, OR, USA
Registered: Sep 2004


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-07-2019 11:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for IXSLR8Click Here to Email IXSLR8Send a Private Message to IXSLR8Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I've done one manual and two automatic trans N* Fieros. Two 85's and one 88.

I used the stock shifter mechanism on the transmission and the stock automatic Cadillac cable. You just have to turn the electronic mechanism 180 degrees (backwards) to be able to shift. You can make a simple bracket to hold the cable. Pretty strait forward.

The nice thing about the automatics is that there is no torque steer under WOT.
You might consider a performance torque converter as my son and I have used all the stock ones. You can't spin the tires with a stock converter and the 300HP VIN 9 engine.

[This message has been edited by IXSLR8 (edited 11-07-2019).]

IP: Logged

olejoedad
Member

Posts: 12990
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 181
Rate this member

Report this Post11-08-2019 08:35 AM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Many people go manual to avoid the weight of the 4T80, and to eliminate issue of second gear take-offs.

IP: Logged

Trinten
Member

Posts: 734
From: Mebane, N.C.
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-08-2019 05:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TrintenSend a Private Message to TrintenEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by IXSLR8:

I've done one manual and two automatic trans N* Fieros. Two 85's and one 88.

I used the stock shifter mechanism on the transmission and the stock automatic Cadillac cable. You just have to turn the electronic mechanism 180 degrees (backwards) to be able to shift. You can make a simple bracket to hold the cable. Pretty strait forward.

The nice thing about the automatics is that there is no torque steer under WOT.
You might consider a performance torque converter as my son and I have used all the stock ones. You can't spin the tires with a stock converter and the 300HP VIN 9 engine.



Awesome! That is exactly what I wanted to know. Thank you. And yes, I have a performance torque converter already from Precision Industries. It's a smaller diameter, so less rotating mass to get moving, billet cover unit. You can find my build thread in the construction zone, zoom to about 2 or 3 pages from the end to see the latest re-revision.
 
quote
Originally posted by olejoedad:
Many people go manual to avoid the weight of the 4T80, and to eliminate issue of second gear take-offs.


Right... found that while trying to find the answer to my actual question.

IP: Logged

Trinten
Member

Posts: 734
From: Mebane, N.C.
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-08-2019 06:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TrintenSend a Private Message to TrintenEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

The 4T80E I got from Triple Edge did not come with any brackets or cables.

I looked up a 2000 Deville on GM Parts, so they would show me associated parts to the shift cable.

Cable:
https://www.gmpartsgiant.co...ter=()&Location=pd:,

IXSLR8 - are these all the other parts I need?

Transmission Range Selector
https://www.gmpartsgiant.co...bff2066ffd4c49d4327e

Range Selector Lever Cable
https://www.gmpartsgiant.co...60700bb3cf95ef436228

You mentioned something about an electronic mechanism? I can't seem to find that part. Thank you for your help!

IP: Logged

sourmash
Member

Posts: 349
From:
Registered: Jul 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-08-2019 09:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for sourmashClick Here to Email sourmashSend a Private Message to sourmashEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by olejoedad:

Many people go manual to avoid the weight of the 4T80, and to eliminate issue of second gear take-offs.


Does the standard Y VIN not shift to 1st gear manually with the shifer? Because the 9 VIN has a floor shifter which can manually be set to 1st gear.

IP: Logged

Will
Member

Posts: 12963
From: Where you least expect me
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 234
Rate this member

Report this Post11-10-2019 06:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for WillClick Here to Email WillSend a Private Message to WillEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by olejoedad:

Many people go manual to avoid the weight of the 4T80, and to eliminate issue of second gear take-offs.


2nd gear start means your PCM is running in "low traction mode" due to lack of input from the antilock/traction control module. This is *NOT* running as intended. You *may* be able to circumvent this by looping the "delivered torque output" signal on the PCM back to the "desired torque input". Some people have had success with that.

[This message has been edited by Will (edited 11-11-2019).]

IP: Logged

Trinten
Member

Posts: 734
From: Mebane, N.C.
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-10-2019 06:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TrintenSend a Private Message to TrintenEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Hey Will,

Thanks. That's really good info to have for when we program the PCM.

IXSLR8 - I'm looking at different parts suppliers, so far the only "electronic" component I can find for the transmission (that isn't internal) is the neutral safety switch. Is this the part you said had to be spun 180 degrees?

Any other feedback on the parts list to get linkage setup for the 4T80E is appreciated!

IP: Logged

sourmash
Member

Posts: 349
From:
Registered: Jul 2016


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-12-2019 08:32 AM Click Here to See the Profile for sourmashClick Here to Email sourmashSend a Private Message to sourmashEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Not sure about that DeVille and DHS but the DTS has a TRACTION CONTROL OFF option, if that might make a difference in how the PCM and TCM operate the selection of 1st gear?

IP: Logged

olejoedad
Member

Posts: 12990
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 181
Rate this member

Report this Post11-12-2019 08:57 AM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by sourmash:

Not sure about that DeVille and DHS but the DTS has a TRACTION CONTROL OFF option, if that might make a difference in how the PCM and TCM operate the selection of 1st gear?


The issue with second gear starts is related to lack of signal from wheel speed sensors to the PCM.

IP: Logged

Will
Member

Posts: 12963
From: Where you least expect me
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 234
Rate this member

Report this Post11-12-2019 08:58 AM Click Here to See the Profile for WillClick Here to Email WillSend a Private Message to WillEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by Trinten:

Hey Will,

Thanks. That's really good info to have for when we program the PCM.



What I said applies to the Cadillac PCM. Since you're using the 0411 with different software, you don't need to worry about that.

IP: Logged


next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock