Click here to visit the donation page | View all sponsors
  Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  headlamps

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
headlamps by kevinl85f
Started on: 10-05-2019 04:25 PM
Replies: 3 (101 views)
Last post by: kevinl85f on 10-07-2019 04:20 PM
kevinl85f
Junior Member

Posts: 10
From: Evington, Va USA
Registered: Sep 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-05-2019 04:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kevinl85fClick Here to Email kevinl85fSend a Private Message to kevinl85fEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Well I bought the headlamp switch and the lamp doors still won't open.
It seems I have Gen 2 on left and gen1 on the right. This is based on the
manual drive knobs.
Cleaned grounds and got a relay for the drivers side, the one that's
hard to get to. Could the relay be plugged in backwards?
this I haven't checked.
I have jumped the wires in the plug it's self and both doors
came up. Jumped other wire and they went down.
so this tells me everything else is operating ok.
Was this relay used on any other car? Aftermarket maybe? Suggestions thanks

IP: Logged

fierofool
Member

Posts: 11482
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 150
Rate this member

Report this Post10-05-2019 08:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

The harness plugs can't be swapped in their position. They are keyed with a flange that will allow them to connect in only one manner. The isolation relay isn't available over the counter any longer. They're only available as a used relay.

The motors operate entirely different. You will notice that the Generation 2 has only a 2 wire harness and the Generation 1 motor has a 3 wire harness. I have seen and actually have a pair of Gen. 1 motors that are wired to work on the Gen. 2 system.

If you have Generation 1 relays in your system, it would be best to obtain another Generation 1 motor.

IP: Logged

82-T/A [At Work]
Member

Posts: 17408
From: Florida USA
Registered: Aug 2002


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 182
Rate this member

Report this Post10-06-2019 10:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 82-T/A [At Work]Send a Private Message to 82-T/A [At Work]Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by kevinl85f:

Well I bought the headlamp switch and the lamp doors still won't open.
It seems I have Gen 2 on left and gen1 on the right. This is based on the
manual drive knobs.
Cleaned grounds and got a relay for the drivers side, the one that's
hard to get to. Could the relay be plugged in backwards?
this I haven't checked.
I have jumped the wires in the plug it's self and both doors
came up. Jumped other wire and they went down.
so this tells me everything else is operating ok.
Was this relay used on any other car? Aftermarket maybe? Suggestions thanks



Hi, when you say relay on the drivers side, do you mean the control module? That black box that mounts to the frame behind the panel that's about I dunno... 5"s by 3"s with two or three connectors on it? (it's been a long time)

That was my first thing I suspected when you said you were having a problem. Yeah... no aftermarket replacement for that. Mine still works, so I haven't thought about it... but I do have to assume it's not that complicated and we could probably fabricate something that would take the place of it. What did the Corvette use during that same time period?

In case this is at all useful: http://www.pontiacperforman...7FieroSE_Lights.html

IP: Logged

kevinl85f
Junior Member

Posts: 10
From: Evington, Va USA
Registered: Sep 2019


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-07-2019 04:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for kevinl85fClick Here to Email kevinl85fSend a Private Message to kevinl85fEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Thanks for the info. I must be ok with all the other relays and motors,
when I jump at the plug of obsolete relay everything operates as normal.
Thinking about wiring in a three position switch to allow this to take place
from the cockpit. Fused of course.

IP: Logged


next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock