Tires! Summer only, what to buy by WullahBlack
Started on: 07-16-2019 05:14 AM
Replies: 12 (279 views)
Last post by: Blacktree on 07-17-2019 07:21 PM
WullahBlack

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-16-2019 05:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for WullahBlackSend a Private Message to WullahBlackEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hello. I've been lurking here for years and finally decided to sign up. Lots of great people and information here.

My question is this. I have aftermarket 17inch rims, and I've been running the same summer tires on my Fiero for 10 years. Needless to say, Im due for some new skins.

At the time, I was told the largest that would fit were 215/40/17. The tires performed great (they were conti extremecontact) but I was curious what other people used for a summer only performance tire.

Honestly, I would love to go up to a 215/45/17 because Michigan potholes eat rims when you have so little sidewall. But the guy at Discount Tire told me that was the largest size that would fit. Though looking at it, I seem to have a lot of clearance with that existing tire size.

So I suppose my two questions are, what summer only performance tires would any of you recommend, and what do you believe the maximum tire size I could fit an on 85 GT with 17inch rims?

Thank you in advance.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
cvxjet

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-16-2019 11:31 AM Click Here to See the Profile for cvxjetSend a Private Message to cvxjetEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post