Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Is my clutch stalling the car when I slow down?

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Is my clutch stalling the car when I slow down? by Mcgheejt
Started on: 05-17-2019 08:27 AM
Replies: 11 (230 views)
Last post by: fierofool on 05-20-2019 05:35 PM
Mcgheejt

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-17-2019 08:27 AM Click Here to See the Profile for McgheejtSend a Private Message to McgheejtEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am pretty new to fieros and my mechanical skills are below average (may have bought the wrong cars, ha). Anyway, I thought I would reach out to the experienced people on the board to help me narrow down my problem before I take it to someone.

I have an 88GT with the 5-speed. It has 23K miles. Two days ago, I took it out and it was running great. I suddenly heard a "groaning" noise which seemed to be coming from my gear box; definitely not the engine; at first I thought the sound was my breaks rubbing but eliminated that as an option. We headed home and noticed this only happened as I was slowing down. It didn't matter what gear (or no gear) I was in or if I had the clutch in or not. The car again made a loud sound like something was rubbing and the engine died as I coasted to a stop. The engine started right back up and accelerated through the gears with no issues, but I continued to hear a "groaning" from the middle of the car as I slowed to a stop and it died two more times before I got home (not good). Am I right to assume it is a clutch problem? My gearbox? Where should I begin?

Todd

------------------
Todd
1988 GT

[This message has been edited by Mcgheejt (edited 05-17-2019).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Neils88

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 56
Rate this member