Click here to visit The FieroStore | View all sponsors
  Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  What is this bracket for?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
What is this bracket for? by damittron
Started on: 02-05-2019 12:52 PM
Replies: 9 (203 views)
Last post by: fierofool on 02-06-2019 11:03 AM
damittron
Member

Posts: 70
From: St. Petersburg, FL USA
Registered: May 2018


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2019 12:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for damittronSend a Private Message to damittronEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I took this off when I was working on my injectors, and was wondering...what the heck is it for?

Picture here:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/GvQSH1Mzd2vkfNGx8

[This message has been edited by damittron (edited 02-05-2019).]

IP: Logged

Gall757
Member

Posts: 9908
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 85
Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2019 01:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

It's a guide for the original spark plug wires which probably are shorter than what you have now.

IP: Logged

damittron
Member

Posts: 70
From: St. Petersburg, FL USA
Registered: May 2018


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2019 01:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for damittronSend a Private Message to damittronEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by Gall757:

It's a guide for the original spark plug wires which probably are shorter than what you have now.



Awesome! I was trying to make it something like that, but couldn't get there on my own! I love this forum, you guys ROCK!

IP: Logged

Gall757
Member

Posts: 9908
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 85
Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2019 01:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I'm gonna add your picture here (in case the link goes away some day).



The Pontiac engineers probably did that to make sure the spark plug wires don't get hung up with the throttle cable.....even though it's a tight fit to get the wires through there.

[This message has been edited by Gall757 (edited 02-05-2019).]

IP: Logged

damittron
Member

Posts: 70
From: St. Petersburg, FL USA
Registered: May 2018


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2019 04:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for damittronSend a Private Message to damittronEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Good plan. I need to get a Windows PC so I can use the Picture upload software. My Mac feels more and more like a mobile device now-a-days.

IP: Logged

fierofool
Member

Posts: 11109
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 146
Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2019 10:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

There was a little plastic wire loom that slipped on that tab that's hidden down low. It's similar to the one used near the temperature gauge sender.

IP: Logged

pmbrunelle
Member

Posts: 2777
From: Grand-Mère, Québec
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 53
Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2019 11:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for pmbrunelleClick Here to Email pmbrunelleSend a Private Message to pmbrunelleEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Hmmm, I learned something about Fieros today.

Nevertheless, I think I prefer the wires running over the bracket; I don't like the idea of having to unscrew something in order to change spark plug wires.

Anyway, I think my Fiero has too much junk down there (PCV line, water injection line) to route the wires in the stock path.

IP: Logged

fierofool
Member

Posts: 11109
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 146
Rate this member

Report this Post02-06-2019 08:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

You don't have to unscrew anything. You can pass the distributor end of the wire upward through the opening very easily. That path does keep the wires away from the throttle body cam, throttle, cruise and kick down cables.

IP: Logged

pmbrunelle
Member

Posts: 2777
From: Grand-Mère, Québec
Registered: Sep 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 53
Rate this member

Report this Post02-06-2019 08:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for pmbrunelleClick Here to Email pmbrunelleSend a Private Message to pmbrunelleEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Did the wires go over or under these cables?

IP: Logged

fierofool
Member

Posts: 11109
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 146
Rate this member

Report this Post02-06-2019 11:03 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Under.

IP: Logged


next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock