Tach reads 1K when engine off by Yorgle
Started on: 01-09-2019 03:12 PM
Replies: 7 (573 views)
Last post by: theogre on 01-10-2019 11:57 AM
Yorgle

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post01-09-2019 03:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for YorgleSend a Private Message to YorgleEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Forgive me if this is noobish, but I'm new to GM cars. I've noticed that the tachometer in my daughter's 2.5L powered 1986 2m4 reads about 1000rpm when the engine is off and key is in the off position (or even if the key is removed). Is this normal? Or is it a symptom of an electrical problem in the making. The needle drops to 0 as soon as the key is turned to the ignition position and reads appropriately when the engine is cranking and running.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
olejoedad

Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 205
Rate this member

Report this Post01-09-2019 03:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Not uncommon
Gall757

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post01-09-2019 04:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by olejoedad:

Not uncommon

84-87 Fieros used gauges that float around a bit when you turn them off. Something to do with magnetic fields.
pmbrunelle

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 62
Rate this member

Report this Post01-09-2019 07:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for pmbrunelleSend a Private Message to pmbrunelleEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by Gall757:

84-87 Fieros used gauges that float around a bit when you turn them off. Something to do with magnetic fields.

I didn't think that 88s were any different with respect to gauges.