Click here to visit The FieroStore | View all sponsors
  Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  fuel pump Wiring hot at ALL times?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
fuel pump Wiring hot at ALL times? by Lou6t4gto
Started on: 11-30-2018 03:21 PM
Replies: 11 (132 views)
Last post by: Raydar on 12-02-2018 03:04 PM
Lou6t4gto
Member

Posts: 7965
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-30-2018 03:21 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

the orange and black wires, at both the oil sender And FP relay are HOT at All times, Key even NOT on. Is it supposed to be that way ? OR is it supposed to be a "switched" line ? thanks

IP: Logged

Lou6t4gto
Member

Posts: 7965
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-30-2018 03:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

also, with the Key" ON", which wires on the relay Should be "hot" ? orange/black and tan/white ??? or it there a 3rd wire ? Thanks

IP: Logged

Lou6t4gto
Member

Posts: 7965
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-30-2018 04:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

shouldn't the green/white wire from the ECM be hot to "energize" the relay when the key is turned on ??? I cut the case off the relay, and If i manually press the contacts, the fuel pump will come on, so it leaves me to believe the ecm is not sending current to turn it on. Opinions ?? Thanks

IP: Logged

Raydar
Member

Posts: 37722
From: West ATL GA 'burbs Powder Springs
Registered: Oct 1999


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 448
Rate this member

Report this Post11-30-2018 04:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RaydarClick Here to Email RaydarSend a Private Message to RaydarEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

The fuel pump fuse is definitely wired "hot". It's why a stuck oil pressure switch will turn your battery into a doorstop.
I rewired mine at the fuseblock. Haven't had a dead battery due to a fuel pump running, in years.

Some people will recommend against doing this, for current capacity reasons, but it's never caused me a minute's trouble.

Edit - I believe that Terminal G on the ALDL is the fuel pump enable line. If you run 12 Volts to it, even with the key off, I'm pretty sure the pump will run. I don't know which side of the relay it connects to, however.

[This message has been edited by Raydar (edited 11-30-2018).]

IP: Logged

theogre
Member

Posts: 27639
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 538
Rate this member

Report this Post11-30-2018 05:38 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

FP Relay is Hot all the time on FP contacts.
Yes, that and other things can ruin a battery fast. And ruin what even like the FP itself in this case.
ALDL G is wired after the relay to tell if relay works or to power the FP to drain the tank etc.

Rewired fuse box is an iffy idea... I switch already handles a lot of power and FP needs 7-10 amps more.
Iffy I switch can cause low volts and kill anything run by it. Pushing the switch to handle more power often only makes worse problems and sooner.
See my Cave, Electric Motors

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave

IP: Logged

Lou6t4gto
Member

Posts: 7965
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-30-2018 06:57 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

what I Have is full time power to both the oil sender and the relay. the relay will NOT turn on the fuel pump, but the oil sender(which I'm almost sure is bad) keeps it running constantly as long as the battery is connected.. I cut off the case of the fp relay, and if I push the Contacts closed, the pump runs. but, SHOULDN'T the ECM supply Power Through the green white wire to energize the relay >because the green white wire is doing Nothing, key on Or Off. I AM changing BOTH the oil sender And the relay, so I'll see if that helps the situation. Thanks

IP: Logged

theogre
Member

Posts: 27639
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 538
Rate this member

Report this Post11-30-2018 07:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

ECM switches to ground to turn on most relays etc.
but in FP relay case, ECM switches Power to Dr Grm/wht wire.
If no start/run then ECM turns that off after ~ 5 sec. if started after then turns on the relay again.

If has AC, just switch relays. Both are same.
If you never get power to dr grn/wht wire then ECM or plug to it have problems. "Dead" ECM commonly seems to run but 1 circuit is dead from solder crack(s) etc. Even if you could find a crack joint and fix it... you very likely won't fix the ECM because you fix 1 and isn't the bad one causing the issue at hand this day.

OP sender is bad to run FP w/ engine off. Better is just upgrade 87 and older cars to 88 sender. See my Cave, Oil Sensor

IP: Logged

Lou6t4gto
Member

Posts: 7965
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-01-2018 12:13 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

OK, tried for "power" at #3 clear at ECM, I have power for 2-3 seconds when key is turned on. And power At the relay for 2-3 seconds. But the relay will Not "turn on" the pump. I've tried 5 different "Used" Relays,... nothing. will get a NEW Relay tomorrow.

IP: Logged

Lou6t4gto
Member

Posts: 7965
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-01-2018 05:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

The Ground wire going "Into" the relay was Not "Grounding" !

IP: Logged

tomsablon
Member

Posts: 398
From: stafford va
Registered: Feb 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-02-2018 08:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for tomsablonClick Here to Email tomsablonSend a Private Message to tomsablonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Had a bad oil pressure switch go bad on mine . after i'd shut of ignition the pump would continue.

IP: Logged

Lou6t4gto
Member

Posts: 7965
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-02-2018 01:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

that is the OTHER problem with the car. I'm waiting for the oil sender to get here. LOL

IP: Logged

Raydar
Member

Posts: 37722
From: West ATL GA 'burbs Powder Springs
Registered: Oct 1999


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 448
Rate this member

Report this Post12-02-2018 03:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for RaydarClick Here to Email RaydarSend a Private Message to RaydarEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

 
quote
Originally posted by theogre:
....
Rewired fuse box is an iffy idea... I switch already handles a lot of power and FP needs 7-10 amps more.
Iffy I switch can cause low volts and kill anything run by it. Pushing the switch to handle more power often only makes worse problems and sooner.



Mine has been that way for several years, with no problems. If I were using a high capacity pump, I might re-evaluate the decision, however.

IP: Logged


next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock