Engine swap for 1986 Fiero 2m6 - 3800 or 3.4 by branger
Started on: 11-19-2018 02:09 PM
Replies: 10 (474 views)
Last post by: Lou6t4gto on 12-03-2018 09:34 PM
branger

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-19-2018 02:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for brangerSend a Private Message to brangerEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey gang:
So my 1986 Fiero, 2.8 V6, seems to be running pretty good, (have some minor issues to hammer out, but the reason for this thread is to gather info).

I want to swap out the 2.8 for something more powerful, and hopefully more reliable. Was thinking the 3800, as I hear and read lots about this one. BUT I am in Canada and a mechanic here told me finding a 3800 of that era will be more challenging as the ones with throttle Body? (I'm not a mechanic, so bear with me), not made in Canada, or really hard to find.

He suggested I look at a 3.4 and specifically NOT one from a Camaero BUT one from a minivan or pick up because minivan or Pick up would have a throttle body fuel injection? And something about this kind would be more compatible with hiring harness and not having to rewire everything???
Does this make any sense? Can someone enlighten me a bit, as I'm not a mechanic. I want to do brake up grades and maybe brake booster upgrades myself... but an engine swap is WAY above my abilities.
Any insights would be helpful!!!!
Thanks

[This message has been edited by branger (edited 11-19-2018).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Patrick

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 458
Rate this member

Report this Post11-19-2018 04:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Originally posted by branger:

1986 Fiero, 2.8 V6, seems to be running pretty good... I want to swap out the 2.8 for something more powerful, and hopefully more reliable.

What makes you believe the 2.8 is not reliable?