steering axis inclination, and included angle by guitarfreak235
Started on: 02-03-2017 12:30 AM
Replies: 12 (687 views)
Last post by: Gall757 on 02-10-2017 10:15 AM
guitarfreak235

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-03-2017 12:30 AM Click Here to See the Profile for guitarfreak235Send a Private Message to guitarfreak235Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
This is very technical so here goes nothing.

I am trying to calculate what camber my wheels are at at a given toe (steering angle the wheels at) to assess whether i want more caster or not on my 88 gt. (I'm a Mechanical Engineering student so I love to get technical with things)

I have the equation to calculate it just dont know what the fieros steering axis inclination is supposed to be? its supposed to be (included angle - camber) where included angle is the angle between the steeting axis and the hub face (plane of rotation of wheels).

Its as follows:

Sin(C)=(Cos(Co)-Cos(C)Cos(T))Tan(S)-Cos(C)Sin(T)Tan(K)+Sin(Co)

IA=S+Co

Where

C=Camber
Co=Camber at 0 toe. (straight ahead)
k= caster
S=STEERING AXIS INCLINATION
T=Toe (Relative to straight ahead)
IA=INCLUDED ANGLE

All I need is steering axis inclination or Included angle. Included angle is literally just the angle between the steering axis and the hub face.

...anyone?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
KMFDMFAN

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-03-2017 05:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for KMFDMFANSend a Private Message to KMFDMFANEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I like turtles...
cvxjet

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-03-2017 06:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for cvxjetSend a Private Message to cvxjetEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post