Planning a universal tach PC board, and help with tachometer math by Chris Eddy
Started on: 07-02-2016 11:59 AM
Replies: 29 (1099 views)
Last post by: Patrick on 05-25-2017 11:56 PM
Chris Eddy

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-02-2016 11:59 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Chris EddySend a Private Message to Chris EddyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I can see a lot of traffic on the topic of tachometer accuracy. I studied the tach, with it's air core style meter, and came up with an idea.
Why not design a replacement PC board that will work for all of the combinations? L4 1 coil and 2 coil, V6 1 coil and 3 coil, and V8 1 coil and 4 coil.
One would just select the scale on a dip switch, replace the old PC board, and it would be right.
The GT tach is rotated, and so may need a different PC board. It also might have a slightly different angle, as it goes to 6500RPM.
But I need to confirm some math on this.. STOP me if I have it wrong, please..
L4 1 coil, fires twice per rev, 1800RPM at 60Hz, or at 6000 rpm, 200Hz.
L4 2 coil, sensing one fire per rev, 3600RPM at 60Hz, or at 6000 rpm, 100Hz.
V6 1 coil, fires thrice per rev, 1200RPM at 60Hz, or at 6000 rpm, 300Hz.
V6 3 coil, sensing one fire per rev, 3600RPM at 60Hz, or at 6000 rpm, 100Hz.
V8 1 coil, fires 4x per rev, 900RPM at 60Hz, or at 6000 rpm, 400Hz.
V8 2 coil, sensing one fire per rev, 3600RPM at 60Hz, or at 6000 rpm, 100Hz.
Were all Fiero tachometers scaled for 6000 RPM max?
One detail would be making the non-GT board fit for the battery gauge or oil pressure gauge. Were there 2 oil pressure scales?
And a big perk.. it could be made to capture peak RPMs, and you add external buttons to set/clear on the dash.
I value any thoughts pro or con..
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
theogre

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 568
Rate this member