Noisy Injectors and High Idle by maxdrex4
Started on: 07-11-2015 09:57 PM
Replies: 4 (114 views)
Last post by: f85gtron on 07-13-2015 06:09 AM
maxdrex4

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-11-2015 09:57 PM Click Here to See the Profile for maxdrex4Send a Private Message to maxdrex4Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hi guys!

This is my first time posting on the forum! I bought an 87 Fiero 2.8 with 32k miles for my first car a year ago and have had some small idling/missing issues with it so I decided to take the intake manifold apart this weekend and put new gaskets on it, as well as inspect the vacuum lines. Anyway, i finally got the thing put back together and the injectors seem much louder than they were before, with a high idle at 2k rpm. The o rings looked good so I didn't replace them. I'm worried about both the injectors and a vacuum leak. I'm pretty sure that i have all of the lines hooked up, especially the big ones. I'll check the EGR tube for a crack tomorrow, since I did bend it around quite a bit while assembling the car. I'm just wondering if I did something wrong with the fuel injectors or if anyone has a good idea. Timing was reset close to 10deg with the cable jumped because I pulled the dizzy.

Thanks!
Max
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
f85gtron

Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-12-2015 10:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for f85gtronSend a Private Message to f85gtronEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Spray wd40 or starter fluid (carefully!) around each injector and the egr tube and listen for upswing in rpm. But if you've got a 2k idle, I'd say go straight to the egr pipe first before the motor and exhaust get hot. Then Take it off and check it out good. You breath on them funny and they crack.

[This message has been edited by f85gtron (edited 07-12-2015).]

fieromatty

Leave feedback

Rate this member