Headliner Reinforcement by Matthew_Fiero
Started on: 07-06-2015 07:51 PM
Replies: 4 (1006 views)
Last post by: css9450 on 07-06-2015 09:50 PM
Matthew_Fiero

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post07-06-2015 07:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Matthew_FieroSend a Private Message to Matthew_FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I've heard of people reinforcing the stock headliners with fiberglass resin and possibly fiberglass sheets. I am new to any kind of fiberglassing so can anyone recommend a certain type of resin or type of fiberglass sheet I should be using?

Also, to smooth the resin before applying the headliner people use a die grinder to dress the bumps. What kind of wheel is used on the die grinder?

Any help is appreciated and I plan on making a thread on the recovery.

Thanks!

Matthew

Attached are pics of the headliner I found at the yard...

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
seajai

Feedback score:    (42)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 52
Rate this member

Report this Post07-06-2015 08:45 PM Click Here to See the Profile for seajaiSend a Private Message to seajaiEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I used the Bondo brand fiberglass kit for mine. Got it at my local autozone. I just used the cloth and resin in the damaged areas only on both sides. No smoothing needed if you do a neat job with the resin. The headliner material has a foam backing that will hide minor imperfections.
ltlfrari

Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 127
Rate this member

Report this Post07-06-2015 08:53 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ltlfrariClick Here to visit ltlfrari's HomePageSend a Private Message to ltlfrariEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I just used resin and glass fomr the local auto store.
Apply resin to board, lay on glass, work more resin into the glass?board. Let it set.