Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  When you buy a rebuilt AC Delco ECM, do you...

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
When you buy a rebuilt AC Delco ECM, do you... by Rich Truett
Started on: 05-17-2015 12:16 PM
Replies: 3 (191 views)
Last post by: phonedawgz on 05-17-2015 03:02 PM
Rich Truett
Member
Posts: 71
From: Detroit, Michigan USA
Registered: Mar 2015


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-17-2015 12:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Rich TruettClick Here to Email Rich TruettSend a Private Message to Rich TruettEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
have to remove the PROM from your existing ECM and put it in the new one?

This is what I bought:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Eng...orig_cvip=true&rt=nc

I notice some of the rebuilts on eBay say that you do have to install your PROM.

Why is that?

Thanks,

Rich Truett
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10629
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post05-17-2015 01:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Many ECMs are sold without a PROM...which has some specific info in it about your car...mostly transmission I think. If yours comes with a PROM, you can look up the number to see if it is right for your car. You should have AKYM3437

[This message has been edited by Gall757 (edited 05-17-2015).]

IP: Logged
Rich Truett
Member
Posts: 71
From: Detroit, Michigan USA
Registered: Mar 2015


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-17-2015 01:53 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Rich TruettClick Here to Email Rich TruettSend a Private Message to Rich TruettEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thank you for that.

My car has an automatic, so hopefully, I can figure out if I need to switch PROMS.

IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17009
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post05-17-2015 03:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Unless the auction stated the year, AT or MT, California or 49 state and in some years the tire size, then you will have to swap the prom.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock