Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  2.8 dies after idle

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
2.8 dies after idle by fieromatty
Started on: 05-03-2015 05:34 PM
Replies: 8 (125 views)
Last post by: fieromatty on 05-06-2015 01:30 AM
fieromatty
Member
Posts: 393
From: colorado
Registered: Apr 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2015 05:34 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieromattyClick Here to Email fieromattySend a Private Message to fieromattyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey everyone.

I finally got my motor in the car. I have it started and no more leaks. I am now having a problem with the engine dying if you open the throttle too quickly or if I shift it into gear. I am guessing that I am having a fuel issue?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
coltonandrew
Member
Posts: 65
From: Ruskin FL US
Registered: Mar 2015


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2015 05:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for coltonandrewClick Here to Email coltonandrewSend a Private Message to coltonandrewEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
That's what it sounds like to me. Auto or 5 speed?
IP: Logged
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10651
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2015 06:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Check the vacuum lines around the MAP.
IP: Logged
fieromatty
Member
Posts: 393
From: colorado
Registered: Apr 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2015 08:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieromattyClick Here to Email fieromattySend a Private Message to fieromattyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I checked the map. It appears to be good. Its an auto.
IP: Logged
tshark
Member
Posts: 4374
From:
Registered: Feb 2014


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 64
Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2015 08:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for tsharkSend a Private Message to tsharkEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
...

[This message has been edited by tshark (edited 09-08-2018).]

IP: Logged
fieromatty
Member
Posts: 393
From: colorado
Registered: Apr 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-03-2015 09:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieromattyClick Here to Email fieromattySend a Private Message to fieromattyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
It idle fine if I just leave it.
IP: Logged
fieromatty
Member
Posts: 393
From: colorado
Registered: Apr 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2015 12:35 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fieromattyClick Here to Email fieromattySend a Private Message to fieromattyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Starting to think I have a bad map sensor. I just replace the connector for it. I am getting a code 34.

How do i test it? Should I just replace it?
IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17011
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post05-04-2015 03:26 AM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
This is a pretty good MAP sensor testing site.

http://easyautodiagnostics....or-multimeter-test-1
IP: Logged
fieromatty
Member
Posts: 393
From: colorado
Registered: Apr 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post05-06-2015 01:30 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fieromattyClick Here to Email fieromattySend a Private Message to fieromattyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I don't have a vacuum pump. So testing the vacuum with the volt meter is difficult

I did break out my volt meter and do as much as I could with what I had. Here is what I found out.

Pin A (Which is the red wire) is exactly 5.01 volts dc. (this looks good)
Pin C (which is a black wire) is a ground (also good 12v to battery positive)

On to pin B (Green wire) which is the one that changes in response to vacuum.

With the key to the run position but the engine off. Pin B is putting out 1.25volts dc. From what I am reading, It should read close to 5 volts at this point.

When I start the engine and check pin B, I get some weird behavior.

The voltage at pin B likes to hang around 3.5 volts with the engine spinning about 1500 rpms. (It was cold when I started my test combined with this problem I am having)

When I open the throttle... It never drops bellow 3.5 volts; however, I did see it jump to 4.5 volts sporadically. Theoretically, as vacuum increases, so should resistance at pin B?

Do you think I have a bad map sensor? I think I do but just want confirmation before I go throw another 40 bucks at the problem.

Some information. I deleted my EGR and have a reprogrammed PROM installed from phonedawgs to delete the solenoid and lower stock idle. The engine is timed 10deg advanced. I have not had this new motor on the road yet.

Thanks for the help.
-Matty

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock