Things to watch out for on Transmission and clutch reinstall by MacDee
Started on: 04-28-2015 08:56 AM
Replies: 4 (396 views)
Last post by: MacDee on 05-04-2015 10:39 PM
MacDee

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2015 08:56 AM Click Here to See the Profile for MacDeeSend a Private Message to MacDeeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Couldn't find someone to change clutch on a low mileage 86 Fiero GT 4 spd. Tackled it with neighbor. Have new clutch, had flywheel resurfaced. Now need to put it all back together. Transmission case needs to be put back together and I'm getting conflicting advice on sealing the case haves. Should I get specific GM sealant or is Permatex ultra grey or black? Place where i got fllywheel done was asking about dowel pins. From what ive read there aren't any. Any other things to watch out fr or reassembly? This is my first time doing this.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 90
Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2015 09:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
tebailey

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2015 12:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for tebaileySend a Private Message to tebaileyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I've use the red stuff for years, love it. The advantage to it is it won't set until the 2 parts are mated. That gives you a long working time to get the pieces together.
Neils88

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 56
Rate this member

Report this Post04-28-2015 07:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Neils88Send a Private Message to Neils88Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If you can, you should make something like this: