Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  fuel pump

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
fuel pump by slink
Started on: 04-27-2015 11:58 AM
Replies: 3 (55 views)
Last post by: slink on 04-27-2015 02:01 PM
slink
Member
Posts: 118
From: Wasaga Beach Ont. Canada
Registered: Apr 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 11:58 AM Click Here to See the Profile for slinkClick Here to Email slinkSend a Private Message to slinkEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have been having problems with fuel pumps for a while-didn't know what the problem was? Found some guys in Chatham Ont. who weren't afraid of my wiring- they put in a new bosch pump let it sit for 20 min. on the ramp and then I drove it about 50' and it died. They figured there is a short in the wiring and didn't have the days time it would take to find it. They ran a new power wire from the fuse box back to the three wires coming off the pump. And now it runs great but I have no fuel gauge. They told me the gauge runs on about 3 amps or volts don't remember. They said pick up a new sending unit and start from there. Question does anyone know if any other sending unit will work. And I guess how to run a power wire with the right amount of current to run my gauge. Or any other ideas how to get my gauge back- thanks for any help. It certainly is nice that it is running again- writing down my milage-ha ha
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
tebailey
Member
Posts: 2617
From: Bay City MI
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 12:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for tebaileyClick Here to Email tebaileySend a Private Message to tebaileyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Your sender uses 12v. When they ran the new wire they left your sender unhooked. You need to find the line in and out on your sender, hook power to the in line and jump the out wire across the plug. Unless the short is in your sender or gauge that will get it working again. You may even get away with just putting jumper wires across the 2 lines in the plug if your gauge runs off a different circuit, witch if I remember right it does.
IP: Logged
2.5
Member
Posts: 41400
From: Southern MN
Registered: May 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 179
Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 12:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 2.5Send a Private Message to 2.5Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
As a Fiero owner I set the trip every fillup and usually fill up before I hit 200 miles, just in case. And my gauges even work.
IP: Logged
slink
Member
Posts: 118
From: Wasaga Beach Ont. Canada
Registered: Apr 2008


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 02:01 PM Click Here to See the Profile for slinkClick Here to Email slinkSend a Private Message to slinkEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock