Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  FUSES

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
FUSES by LT188GT
Started on: 04-26-2015 06:38 PM
Replies: 6 (123 views)
Last post by: LT188GT on 04-27-2015 11:00 AM
LT188GT
Member
Posts: 5125
From: Miami Fl
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 100
Rate this member

Report this Post04-26-2015 06:38 PM Click Here to See the Profile for LT188GTClick Here to Email LT188GTSend a Private Message to LT188GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Coming back from a car show today, I heard a little pop by the fuse panel and I lost my radio and speedometer.
I replaced a blown 10 amp fuse for the radio but still no radio.
I also replaced a blown 10 amp fuse for the battery (fuel pump relay-oil pressure switch feed) as listed in my manual
even tho I have no problem with the car running. Still no speedo.

ANY help will be appreciated.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
starnes691
Member
Posts: 38
From: yesville
Registered: Apr 2015


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

User Banned

Report this Post04-26-2015 07:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for starnes691Send a Private Message to starnes691Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I think a fix will be if you were to register for the next 1/2 mile shootout in florida. You can challenge as many hondas to 160 mph roll races as you want. Will you register?
IP: Logged
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10738
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 89
Rate this member

Report this Post04-26-2015 10:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You have a stock Fiero Radio?
IP: Logged
LT188GT
Member
Posts: 5125
From: Miami Fl
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 100
Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 09:25 AM Click Here to See the Profile for LT188GTClick Here to Email LT188GTSend a Private Message to LT188GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Aftermarket radio that has been in the car for years and has not been removed for any reason for years.

The instrument panel has the digital set up from Tom Sweet and ONLY the speedo lost lighting.
I assume the speedo is working, I just can't see it.
IP: Logged
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10738
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 89
Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 09:59 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by LT188GT:

Aftermarket radio that has been in the car for years


But we don't know how it was wired......so it's tough to troubleshoot. Here is the factory way.....note 2 fuses to the radio.

[This message has been edited by Gall757 (edited 04-27-2015).]

IP: Logged
darbysan
Member
Posts: 944
From: Las Vegas
Registered: Oct 2014


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 10:26 AM Click Here to See the Profile for darbysanClick Here to Email darbysanSend a Private Message to darbysanEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
According to the manual, there is a 20A ( or 25A depending on which page you look at) BAT fuse that provides constant power to the Radio, as well as other devices. It is on the fuse box, third row down, third fuse across. I found mine had the wrong fuse (10A, Blown). Might take a look. Just for reference, the Fuel Pump fuse is on the top row, second fuse across, 10A.

------------------
'87 GT in process!

IP: Logged
LT188GT
Member
Posts: 5125
From: Miami Fl
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 100
Rate this member

Report this Post04-27-2015 11:00 AM Click Here to See the Profile for LT188GTClick Here to Email LT188GTSend a Private Message to LT188GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Gall757---As best as I can remember, an adapter was used to connect the radio to the factory connector.
I did not cut and splice wires.

darbysan---thanks for the info. I will be checking and replacing fuses as the day progresses.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock