Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Mark rear strut area so you dont need an alignment after replacing?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Mark rear strut area so you dont need an alignment after replacing? by 2.5
Started on: 02-27-2015 05:24 PM
Replies: 4 (221 views)
Last post by: Lou6t4gto on 02-28-2015 06:02 PM
2.5
Member
Posts: 41410
From: Southern MN
Registered: May 2007


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 179
Rate this member

Report this Post02-27-2015 05:24 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 2.5Send a Private Message to 2.5Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have heard some people mark the rear spindles and claim they dont need an alignment after replacing rear struts. Can this be done with an 86 Fiero? I wouldn't think so since the new struts may not be identical to the old ones?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-27-2015 06:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hard enough with your old struts, new ones, Don't think so.
IP: Logged
woodyhere
Member
Posts: 399
From: prior lake, MN USA
Registered: Aug 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-27-2015 08:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for woodyhereClick Here to Email woodyhereSend a Private Message to woodyhereEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I drilled a 3/16 hole for alignment in my old strut when I moved it which has nothing to do with what you asked. . A new strut isn't too hard to get pretty close by using one of those magnetic levels that magnetically stick to the rotor. It's just a matter of duplicating the setting when you adjust the new strut. Clear as mud!

------------------
woodys 427

IP: Logged
theogre
Member
Posts: 29578
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 552
Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2015 03:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Making or using standard level can get close enough to drive.
Just use a digital level or plumb bob before then after is better. Both are more accurate.
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/F.../HTML/000031.html#p4
web search for diy alignment camber

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave (It's also at the top and bottom of every forum page...)

IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2015 06:02 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
drilling the 1/8" hole is a good idea, I've always done that for other panels. to re align you just put in a 1/8" rivet and tighten the bolts.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock