Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  square bit size

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
square bit size by fieromatty
Started on: 02-12-2015 06:19 PM
Replies: 12 (204 views)
Last post by: jaskispyder on 02-13-2015 04:37 PM
fieromatty
Member
Posts: 393
From: colorado
Registered: Apr 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 06:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieromattyClick Here to Email fieromattySend a Private Message to fieromattyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
For some reason, pontiac thought it would be a good idea to put a square bit plug where the fan temp switch usually goes. Does anyone know what size that bit is? I can't find it at any store.

A picture is on my website

magnetwd.com/car

Its the last picture on the page.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
jaskispyder
Member
Posts: 21510
From: Northern MI
Registered: Jun 2002


Feedback score:    (22)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 205
Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 06:27 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jaskispyderSend a Private Message to jaskispyderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I can't remember, but isn't it just 3/8".... or 1/2" (use a ratchet).

I have created my own, in the past by just grinding down a bolt, to the same size as the square hole.

(found this: http://www.thirdgen.org/for...-head-pipe-plug.html )

[This message has been edited by jaskispyder (edited 02-12-2015).]

IP: Logged
Neils88
Member
Posts: 3987
From: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Aug 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 56
Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 07:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Neils88Click Here to Email Neils88Send a Private Message to Neils88Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jaskispyder:

I can't remember, but isn't it just 3/8".... or 1/2" (use a ratchet).



+1 That was going to be my suggestion...
IP: Logged
tebailey
Member
Posts: 2605
From: Bay City MI
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 07:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for tebaileyClick Here to Email tebaileySend a Private Message to tebaileyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Don't know what they have on yours, but I know some GM's had 5/16 square plugs. Had to get a socket for a Caddy engine I had long ago.
IP: Logged
fieromatty
Member
Posts: 393
From: colorado
Registered: Apr 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 07:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fieromattyClick Here to Email fieromattySend a Private Message to fieromattyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Its smaller then the 3/8ths ractchet. I tried.
IP: Logged
Taijiguy
Member
Posts: 12198
From: Delaware, OH.
Registered: Jul 99


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 244
Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 09:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TaijiguyClick Here to Email TaijiguySend a Private Message to TaijiguyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by fieromatty:

Its smaller then the 3/8ths ractchet. I tried.


1/4"?
IP: Logged
Bloozberry
Member
Posts: 7760
From:
Registered: Jan 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 307
Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 09:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BloozberrySend a Private Message to BloozberryEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The heads are interchangeable left to right... are you sure the head on the other bank doesn't have the plug already removed?
IP: Logged
tebailey
Member
Posts: 2605
From: Bay City MI
Registered: Jan 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 09:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for tebaileyClick Here to Email tebaileySend a Private Message to tebaileyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
They do make a socket for those 5/16 square.
IP: Logged
fierofool
Member
Posts: 11834
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 151
Rate this member

Report this Post02-12-2015 11:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Bloozberry:

The heads are interchangeable left to right... are you sure the head on the other bank doesn't have the plug already removed?


I have seen one engine that was totally assembled and installed before they realized they'd put the heads on the opposite banks. They couldn't get the plug out so they ran a pair of wires across the engine to the temperature sensor at the right front of the engine.
IP: Logged
darbysan
Member
Posts: 937
From: Las Vegas
Registered: Oct 2014


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-13-2015 11:19 AM Click Here to See the Profile for darbysanClick Here to Email darbysanSend a Private Message to darbysanEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I had a bunch of short 3/8" extensions, so I just ground one down. Same as grinding down the bolt.

------------------
'87 GT in process!

IP: Logged
Bloozberry
Member
Posts: 7760
From:
Registered: Jan 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 307
Rate this member

Report this Post02-13-2015 11:55 AM Click Here to See the Profile for BloozberrySend a Private Message to BloozberryEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by fierofool:
I have seen one engine that was totally assembled and installed before they realized they'd put the heads on the opposite banks. They couldn't get the plug out ...


Personally, I've never been able to get that plug out and neither has the machine shop where I get most of my work done. They're in there good and tight with 30 years of corrosion in the threads. My experience has been that the square socket in the head either rounds off or the tool does.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierofool
Member
Posts: 11834
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 151
Rate this member

Report this Post02-13-2015 12:36 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Our mechanic that installed my 3.4 got the plug out of mine. The engine had good compression so we didn't want to pull the heads. I don't know how he did it, but he did. Freezing it with AC refrigerant and whacking it with a brass drift and small sledge can sometimes break them loose. Then use an impact wrench. I've used that method on the same type plugs in other applications.

[This message has been edited by fierofool (edited 02-13-2015).]

IP: Logged
jaskispyder
Member
Posts: 21510
From: Northern MI
Registered: Jun 2002


Feedback score:    (22)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 205
Rate this member

Report this Post02-13-2015 04:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jaskispyderSend a Private Message to jaskispyderEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
On my Jasper rebuild, it came out without a problem.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock