Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  88 duke shortblock be used in an 86?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
88 duke shortblock be used in an 86? by da.slyboy
Started on: 02-04-2015 05:16 PM
Replies: 9 (201 views)
Last post by: jmbishop on 02-06-2015 04:39 PM
da.slyboy
Member
Posts: 390
From: Wichita, KS
Registered: Dec 2012


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-04-2015 05:16 PM Click Here to See the Profile for da.slyboyClick Here to Email da.slyboySend a Private Message to da.slyboyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I seen an ad about a rebuilt 4 cyl shortblock that was available on craigslist.

Never Installed. $300

Casting # 10038980 1988 1989 1990 (To be used with head Casting # 1101496

Pontiac Fiero and other gm 4 cylinder applications

I have an 86 currently with a duke in it that is bad. I understand the 88 models are DIS but I thought I read somewhere that you can add a distributor by removing the freeze plug. Not certain if it was for V6 or L4 models. Anyway the price is good so the question is can an 88 block be used if I swap over the heads/accessories and add the distributor?

It's hard to find info on the casting numbers to confirm if it would (Or I just do not know where to look).
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Bloozberry
Member
Posts: 7760
From:
Registered: Jan 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 307
Rate this member

Report this Post02-04-2015 07:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BloozberrySend a Private Message to BloozberryEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I'm not too familiar with the 2.5L engines, but I believe some parts may be hard to find if your short block doesn't come with them. For example, the '88 Duke had counter-rotating balance shafts in the bottom end, a different oil pan, and a strange oil filter arrangement. I'm sure there are other very specific parts that you'd want to make sure you could get or were included with the block.
IP: Logged
jmbishop
Member
Posts: 4419
From: Probably Texas
Registered: Jul 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 168
Rate this member

Report this Post02-04-2015 08:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jmbishopClick Here to Email jmbishopSend a Private Message to jmbishopEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
88 was also DIS, I don't know if you could use a distributor on a 88 block, if you can't use a distributor you'd need allot more 88 parts.

I actually have a 84 that needs a engine and a complete 88 engine with harness and ecm. It might make it easier if I could go with the distributor and 84 witing

[This message has been edited by jmbishop (edited 02-04-2015).]

IP: Logged
olejoedad
Member
Posts: 14019
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 188
Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2015 01:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
88 Duke has NO provisions for distributor. It is DIS only.

I have an 88 Duke drivetrain sitting here with 70,000 miles, redone head ($400) with tranny, wire harness, and ECU that I would love to sell. It ran like new when pulled for swap.
IP: Logged
Twilight Fenrir
Member
Posts: 1023
From: MN
Registered: Nov 2008


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2015 02:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Twilight FenrirSend a Private Message to Twilight FenrirEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jmbishop:

88 was also DIS, I don't know if you could use a distributor on a 88 block, if you can't use a distributor you'd need allot more 88 parts.

I actually have a 84 that needs a engine and a complete 88 engine with harness and ecm. It might make it easier if I could go with the distributor and 84 witing



I looked into doing this myself... But the '84s are goofy. They have different firewall connectors, and even 84 to 85 ignition system parts are not interchangeable. The 87 and 88 dukes have a LOT of significant changes to them. It is, of course, very possible. But it' s not the bolt up and go opperation it may seem.

IIRC (and, it has been a while, I could be mistaken) you'd need the new ECM, the whole engine wiring harness, AND the whole cabin wiring harness from the '88. And you' d STILL have to do a bit of Frankensteining on the firewall connector to cram it in there.
IP: Logged
da.slyboy
Member
Posts: 390
From: Wichita, KS
Registered: Dec 2012


Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2015 04:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for da.slyboyClick Here to Email da.slyboySend a Private Message to da.slyboyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Well sounds like it's a no go on the short block then. I figured it would require some work but it sounds just as difficult as a full engine swap vs just a replacement. Olejoedad your full engine package sounds tempting, but you are a little far for me. Thanks for all the input, Can someone post the link or topic that shows the compatible engines from other cars that would work for the 85-86 years.

If someone needs a replacement for late 87 or 88 duke models here is the link to the craigslist ad.

http://tulsa.craigslist.org/pts/4874750679.html
IP: Logged
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10633
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2015 05:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Here ya go..........

http://fierosails.com/Engine.html
IP: Logged
jmbishop
Member
Posts: 4419
From: Probably Texas
Registered: Jul 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 168
Rate this member

Report this Post02-05-2015 05:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jmbishopClick Here to Email jmbishopSend a Private Message to jmbishopEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Twilight Fenrir:


I looked into doing this myself... But the '84s are goofy. They have different firewall connectors, and even 84 to 85 ignition system parts are not interchangeable. The 87 and 88 dukes have a LOT of significant changes to them. It is, of course, very possible. But it' s not the bolt up and go opperation it may seem.

IIRC (and, it has been a while, I could be mistaken) you'd need the new ECM, the whole engine wiring harness, AND the whole cabin wiring harness from the '88. And you' d STILL have to do a bit of Frankensteining on the firewall connector to cram it in there.


For plug and play yes you'd need the 88 harness.




Like I said I have the 88 engine harness and ecm, I should be able to re-pin the c500 and do a few other changes to make it work with the 84 interior harness/c500. I also have 2 86 interior harnesses that could be swapped into the 84 but I don't know how much if any repinning would have to be done.
IP: Logged
Twilight Fenrir
Member
Posts: 1023
From: MN
Registered: Nov 2008


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-06-2015 10:39 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Twilight FenrirSend a Private Message to Twilight FenrirEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jmbishop:


For plug and play yes you'd need the 88 harness.




Like I said I have the 88 engine harness and ecm, I should be able to re-pin the c500 and do a few other changes to make it work with the 84 interior harness/c500. I also have 2 86 interior harnesses that could be swapped into the 84 but I don't know how much if any repinning would have to be done.

If my memory serves... There was some arangement in the '84 firewall connecter that had a unique geometry. I believe, you'll have to splice the '84 connector on the end of the '88 harness. None of the other ones will mechanicaly plug into it.

Not a big deal, but something to be aware of.... If I remember correctly...

Also... There' s something about the terminal block over near the battery...

[This message has been edited by Twilight Fenrir (edited 02-06-2015).]

IP: Logged
jmbishop
Member
Posts: 4419
From: Probably Texas
Registered: Jul 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 168
Rate this member

Report this Post02-06-2015 04:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jmbishopClick Here to Email jmbishopSend a Private Message to jmbishopEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
There is no terminal block near the battery on the 84
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock