Super Duty 4 build ATTEMPT by edfiero
Started on: 10-28-2014 03:19 PM
Replies: 74 (4345 views)
Last post by: fierosound on 10-11-2017 09:21 AM
edfiero

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-28-2014 03:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for edfieroSend a Private Message to edfieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I call this thread my build ATTEMPT, because it’s just that. I’ve never tried anything this ambitious before and its already turning out to be more difficult than I expected. My thought going in to this was that the SD4 would be the easiest swap (though not the cheapest) because of dealing with the same block, it would bolt right up, and I wouldn’t have to worry about fabricating anything. Cost is less of an issue than dealing with the lack of tools and skill to make things fit that weren’t designed to go together. (This is going into an 84, so that wiring would have to be considered if doing a 2.8/3.1 swap.)
I bought what I thought was a relatively complete engine. It was previously used for racing so I knew the cam was not going to be something that could be run on the street and the compression would also be an issue, but I thought I might be able to deal with that by running at least a partial tank of E85 for an Octane of about 96 or so.
I’ll list, in no particular order, some of the issues I’ve been dealing with, some more significant than others.