Engine Swaptions - Help! by BZAnathema
Started on: 10-26-2014 03:49 PM
Replies: 5 (332 views)
Last post by: Dennis LaGrua on 10-26-2014 09:40 PM
BZAnathema

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-26-2014 03:49 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BZAnathemaSend a Private Message to BZAnathemaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Okay guys. I've done as much research as I can. I need some advice. I have a complete but disassembled 4.9 sitting in my garage, and it's daunting me. I may be able to find one already built, but I'm not sure - and I don't think I want to build this one myself. So I've done some digging and I think a small-block Chevy swap may be an option for me, but I'm not sure. So:

-I would really like to have this running by next summer. I have lots of knowledgeable, nearby friends, including garage owners, fabricators, professional mechanics, what have you, so I don't think that time will be an issue as long as I can get my ducks in a row and do my research.
-Money shouldn't be TERRIBLY tight: I don't need a gorgeous swap, just want a running one. Doesn't have to be perfect, nor necessarily clean, nor necessarily complete. I can keep cleaning it up for as long as I want as long as I can drive it to a garage.
-I really want more power than a 3.4PR. That's what I had, and my transmission died (due to previous bad maintenance by the PO), and I would like to just kill two birds with one stone and do a complete powertrain swap.

So I'm torn between a few options.

1. 4.9 swap with an Allante intake and steel rocker supports. I have all the parts - I could always just buy a used engine, tear down the top end, put in the parts I want, and sell the surplus.
2. Carb'd small block with an Archie kit. Clearly more expensive, but less time-consuming on fitment, and it's far easier to find information on a SBC than a 4.9.