Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Cruise Control (What goes here)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Cruise Control (What goes here) by ninjayogi
Started on: 10-25-2014 02:55 PM
Replies: 6 (332 views)
Last post by: bomluuk on 11-04-2014 11:28 AM
ninjayogi
Member
Posts: 199
From: West Frankfort, IL, USA
Registered: Sep 2014


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-25-2014 02:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ninjayogiClick Here to Email ninjayogiSend a Private Message to ninjayogiEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
My cruise control is not working. I looked at the diagram on this site and don't see this port on it. What is supposed to hook into this? TIA -Travis

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierogtlt1
Member
Posts: 1006
From: Orlando,Florida U.S.A
Registered: Jul 2012


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-25-2014 04:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierogtlt1Click Here to Email fierogtlt1Send a Private Message to fierogtlt1Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post


I hope this helps.
IP: Logged
sricka01
Member
Posts: 773
From: Frisco, TX
Registered: Jul 2008


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-25-2014 05:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for sricka01Send a Private Message to sricka01Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Replace that rusty vacuum can. Takes 15 minutes. It definitely has rust pinhole leak on the bottom side where you cant see. I replaced everything ELSE on my cruise control system before replacing the canister because it looked great from the top side. When I removed it, the hole was so obvious. Mine didnt look half as bad as your photo. http://fierostore.com/Produ...ail.aspx?s=65753&p=2
IP: Logged
fierofool
Member
Posts: 11834
From: Auburn, Georgia USA
Registered: Jan 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 151
Rate this member

Report this Post10-25-2014 08:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofoolClick Here to visit fierofool's HomePageClick Here to Email fierofoolSend a Private Message to fierofoolEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The top port had a small foam rubber filter that capped it. Nothing more. It was just a filter.
IP: Logged
jimbolaya
Member
Posts: 10652
From: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post10-25-2014 09:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jimbolayaClick Here to Email jimbolayaSend a Private Message to jimbolayaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I second the replacing of the vacuum canister and that nothing goes on those ports. Just a filter cap and I'm not sure it does anything. My issue. years ago, with my cruise, was the servo. The wire coil had become "unspun", and broken. Not sure how that could even happen, but it did. I found another one at the junkyard, and it fixed it. I believe, there are some cruise servo's off of other GM cars that are identical to the Fiero one.

Jim

Edit: Servo is the correct term, not solenoid.

[This message has been edited by jimbolaya (edited 10-26-2014).]

IP: Logged
masospaghetti
Member
Posts: 2477
From: Charlotte, NC USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (10)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-26-2014 06:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for masospaghettiClick Here to Email masospaghettiSend a Private Message to masospaghettiEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
+1 on replacing the vacuum can. I've used servos from different GM vehicles, they do work, just make sure the electrical connector is the same size. I tried one off a Cadillac, it was smaller but still bolted right up and worked with no issues.

Also check that your clutch and brake switches are correctly adjusted, these will prevent the cruise from working. And believe it or not, the cruise control box also does go bad, I replaced mine with a "reman" unit from the local parts store.
IP: Logged
bomluuk
Member
Posts: 371
From: Harrisville, UT, USA
Registered: Apr 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2014 11:28 AM Click Here to See the Profile for bomluukSend a Private Message to bomluukEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Also, check for vacuum leaks elsewhere. My cruise stopped working when my EGR tube broke.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock