Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Radio weird problems

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Radio weird problems by newfiejeff
Started on: 10-21-2014 07:57 PM
Replies: 4 (78 views)
Last post by: imabaddude on 10-21-2014 08:11 PM
newfiejeff
Member
Posts: 560
From: Newfoundland Canada
Registered: Aug 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-21-2014 07:57 PM Click Here to See the Profile for newfiejeffClick Here to Email newfiejeffSend a Private Message to newfiejeffEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey, since I bought the car last fall the radio hasn't worked or worked very well.
Problems
Won't store channels or will store channels while the car is going and will lose them when the car is turned off
The clock always starts at 0:50 for the time and then will count going up while driving.
The radio station takes a while to pick up the channel, you might have to drive 15 mins or more before tuning in and when it does all known good channels will not work only some.

Is the radio garbage(right now it is..lol)?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
imabaddude
Member
Posts: 94
From: Braidwood, IL, US
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-21-2014 08:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for imabaddudeSend a Private Message to imabaddudeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You have two power sources for radios, the constant, which keeps your presets on clock set, and then the one that supplies power only when the car is on or you have it in ACC mode, and that is the one that turns on your radio. Someone just posted the Fiero stock wiring diagram for the radio, and on most aftermarket stereos yellow is the constant, and Red is the ACC.
IP: Logged
imabaddude
Member
Posts: 94
From: Braidwood, IL, US
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-21-2014 08:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for imabaddudeSend a Private Message to imabaddudeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

imabaddude

94 posts
Member since Sep 2012
 
quote
Originally posted by IMSA GT:

You're using a 12 volt probe light at the speaker terminals and GETTING 12 volts out of the wiring? I've never heard of that but then I have never tried that.

Did you use an adapter harness for the Fiero or just cut off the factory connector, meter the wiring and hooked it up that way?

This is from AndyLPhoto on here:


Be aware that some people have had issues with the taillight fuses blowing if you connect the gray (panel illumination) or brown (dim signal) wires so be careful.



IP: Logged
newfiejeff
Member
Posts: 560
From: Newfoundland Canada
Registered: Aug 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-21-2014 08:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for newfiejeffClick Here to Email newfiejeffSend a Private Message to newfiejeffEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Its the original radio
IP: Logged
imabaddude
Member
Posts: 94
From: Braidwood, IL, US
Registered: Sep 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-21-2014 08:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for imabaddudeSend a Private Message to imabaddudeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Pull it out and check the wiring. It may have been removed and an aftermarket one put in, and then lazily put the stock one in to sell it.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock