Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Replacement cigarette lighter receptacle.

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Replacement cigarette lighter receptacle. by Tweeder
Started on: 09-27-2014 12:46 AM
Replies: 6 (317 views)
Last post by: NetCam on 09-28-2014 08:44 PM
Tweeder
Member
Posts: 1025
From: Kitimat, BC, Canada
Registered: Aug 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-27-2014 12:46 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TweederSend a Private Message to TweederEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Is there a replacement cigarette receptacle? The one I have in there is hit and miss. Some plugins don't work at all.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
theogre
Member
Posts: 29381
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 550
Rate this member

Report this Post09-27-2014 10:51 AM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
See my Cave, Lighter

------------------
Dr. Ian Malcolm: Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn't stop to think if they should.
(Jurassic Park)


The Ogre's Fiero Cave (It's also at the top and bottom of every forum page...)

IP: Logged
Tweeder
Member
Posts: 1025
From: Kitimat, BC, Canada
Registered: Aug 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2014 12:10 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TweederSend a Private Message to TweederEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks for that ogre. Mines kinda rusty inside, that and I have tried two different receptacles and it's the same with both on certain plug ins. I think it's that the receptacle is too short for newer plugs.

------------------
86 SE Convertible 3800sc 4t65e HD(2002), Gen V, 3.5 pulley, SD headers

IP: Logged
NetCam
Member
Posts: 1490
From: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Mar 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2014 12:37 AM Click Here to See the Profile for NetCamClick Here to visit NetCam's HomePageSend a Private Message to NetCamEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I installed one of these. Tapped into the original wiring and mounted it under the dash on the passenger side.

[This message has been edited by NetCam (edited 09-28-2014).]

IP: Logged
Tweeder
Member
Posts: 1025
From: Kitimat, BC, Canada
Registered: Aug 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2014 12:41 AM Click Here to See the Profile for TweederSend a Private Message to TweederEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I could always do that, and crappy tire sells em.

------------------
86 SE Convertible 3800sc 4t65e HD(2002), Gen V, 3.5 pulley, SD headers

IP: Logged
theogre
Member
Posts: 29381
From: USA
Registered: Mar 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 550
Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2014 12:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for theogreClick Here to visit theogre's HomePageSend a Private Message to theogreEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Tweeder:
Thanks for that ogre. Mines kinda rusty inside, that and I have tried two different receptacles and it's the same with both on certain plug ins. I think it's that the receptacle is too short for newer plugs.

Many plugs are the problem... Too weak spring to hold into sockets is very common. Sides much hold w/ enough force so center holds. Many can/will back off from vibration etc. Many can't hold at all.

Small amount of rust can be removed. Sockets used to light cigarettes can rust out because ash holds moisture and repeated heat cycles.

Many aftermarket addon sockets are junk too. I've tried many over the years. Many are made very cheap and even good plugs can have problems keeping contact.
Make sure power is switched so USB sockets and things plug into socket/usb can't drain the battery.
Depending USB socket type... devices can draw 0.5 - 2+ amps and can drain a battery if left on over time and car isn't used often. (This is on top of ECM and Radio standby power.)
IP: Logged
NetCam
Member
Posts: 1490
From: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Mar 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-28-2014 08:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for NetCamClick Here to visit NetCam's HomePageSend a Private Message to NetCamEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Tweeder:

I could always do that, and crappy tire sells em.



That's where I got mine, I think it was under $20
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock