Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  AC relay failure

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
AC relay failure by donuteater306
Started on: 09-22-2014 11:50 PM
Replies: 4 (116 views)
Last post by: phonedawgz on 09-23-2014 08:18 PM
donuteater306
Member
Posts: 613
From: San Francisco, CA USA
Registered: Feb 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-22-2014 11:50 PM Click Here to See the Profile for donuteater306Click Here to Email donuteater306Send a Private Message to donuteater306Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Other than the country where the relay is made Could there be another reason why two AC relays have failed on my car in 5 years? Same scenario both times. Turn on AC, compressor doesn't engage. hit a few bumps in the road and CLICK, it's on. Last time it happened, I replaced both the AC and fuel pump relays thinking that since they were both orig., I wanted to prevent a potential no-start. But here I am again. Turn on AC and occasionally have to tap the relay.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17009
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post09-23-2014 01:16 AM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The diode on the compressor connector is bad.

It keeps the relay contacts from pitting.

http://www.progeny.co.uk/Back-EMF-Suppression.aspx
IP: Logged
donuteater306
Member
Posts: 613
From: San Francisco, CA USA
Registered: Feb 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-23-2014 11:01 AM Click Here to See the Profile for donuteater306Click Here to Email donuteater306Send a Private Message to donuteater306Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Woah, thank you..I had no idea! That's actually an interesting article. So now the question is, do I just go to RadioShack for a diode and splice it in, or does Delco still sell the pigtail?
IP: Logged
donuteater306
Member
Posts: 613
From: San Francisco, CA USA
Registered: Feb 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-23-2014 11:05 AM Click Here to See the Profile for donuteater306Click Here to Email donuteater306Send a Private Message to donuteater306Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

donuteater306

613 posts
Member since Feb 2010
Whup, found it. Delco part# PT179 connector W/diode.
IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17009
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post09-23-2014 08:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Radio Shack sells diodes also.

http://www.radioshack.com/p...sp?productId=2036270

If you do use the Radio Shack diode make sure the band on the diode connects to the Dk. Green wire. The end of the diode without the band connects to the Black wire.

[This message has been edited by phonedawgz (edited 09-23-2014).]

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock