Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  89 a/t 4spd axle source?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
89 a/t 4spd axle source? by AL87
Started on: 09-06-2014 11:35 AM
Replies: 13 (300 views)
Last post by: jimbolaya on 10-11-2014 08:32 PM
AL87
Member
Posts: 2578
From: Bradenton, Florida, United States
Registered: Mar 2010


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-06-2014 11:35 AM Click Here to See the Profile for AL87Click Here to Email AL87Send a Private Message to AL87Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have a friend swapping in an auto 4spd and he's wondering if there is a source for a premade axle to fit the fiero.
the trans came out of a Cadillac, and he has the axles that came with it, along with the original fiero axles from his 125.

he doesn't want to cut/weld anything, IF there is no source for something premade, hes okay with mixing/matching parts from different axles to get this baby installed. we just need info to get started.

any and all info would be appreciated!
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14577
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 280
Rate this member

Report this Post09-06-2014 12:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
That's the 440T4/4T60 4-speed automatic?
http://web.archive.org/web/...s.com/tech/440-4T60/

Axle assemblies for a 1989 Pontiac 6000 (with 2.8 V6, 4T60 and light duty brakes w/o ABS) fit out-of-the-box.

Part numbers
A1 CARDONE PN 601078 - LEFT side drive axle (21-inches long overall)
A1 CARDONE PN 601115 - RIGHT side drive axle (26.25-inches long overall)



------------------
Calgary time/temp

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT Click me
Super Duty 4 Indy #163 Click me

[This message has been edited by fierosound (edited 09-06-2014).]

IP: Logged
AL87
Member
Posts: 2578
From: Bradenton, Florida, United States
Registered: Mar 2010


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-08-2014 01:30 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AL87Click Here to Email AL87Send a Private Message to AL87Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
double post*

[This message has been edited by AL87 (edited 09-08-2014).]

IP: Logged
AL87
Member
Posts: 2578
From: Bradenton, Florida, United States
Registered: Mar 2010


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-08-2014 01:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AL87Click Here to Email AL87Send a Private Message to AL87Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

AL87

2578 posts
Member since Mar 2010
 
quote
Originally posted by fierosound:

That's the 440T4/4T60 4-speed automatic?
http://web.archive.org/web/...s.com/tech/440-4T60/

Axle assemblies for a 1989 Pontiac 6000 (with 2.8 V6, 4T60 and light duty brakes w/o ABS) fit out-of-the-box.

Part numbers
A1 CARDONE PN 601078 - LEFT side drive axle (21-inches long overall)
A1 CARDONE PN 601115 - RIGHT side drive axle (26.25-inches long overall)




yes, that transmission!

looks sweet! Thanks!
IP: Logged
Grantman
Member
Posts: 1410
From: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Registered: Dec 2011


Feedback score:    (22)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-08-2014 01:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for GrantmanClick Here to Email GrantmanSend a Private Message to GrantmanEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
your friend will love that swap. those axles are plug and play.
IP: Logged
AL87
Member
Posts: 2578
From: Bradenton, Florida, United States
Registered: Mar 2010


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-08-2014 09:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AL87Click Here to Email AL87Send a Private Message to AL87Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Grantman:

your friend will love that swap. those axles are plug and play.


I want to do that swap as well. because of the advantage the 4th gear has. more fuel economy!
BUT I'm lazy and don't want to fab the mounts up...

I'll let him know! thanks!

[This message has been edited by AL87 (edited 10-08-2014).]

IP: Logged
lou_dias
Member
Posts: 5091
From: Warwick, RI
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 65
Rate this member

Report this Post10-09-2014 12:29 PM Click Here to See the Profile for lou_diasClick Here to Email lou_diasSend a Private Message to lou_diasEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I just bought an 86SE with a 3400 conversion done. I was told the transmission was the 4T60 but it doesn't shift into 4th. How can I identify which auto I am running?
I typically never buy autos so forgive my ignorance.
IP: Logged
fierosound
Member
Posts: 14577
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: Nov 1999


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 280
Rate this member

Report this Post10-09-2014 02:00 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierosoundClick Here to visit fierosound's HomePageClick Here to Email fierosoundSend a Private Message to fierosoundEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by lou_dias:

I just bought an 86SE with a 3400 conversion done. I was told the transmission was the 4T60 but it doesn't shift into 4th.
How can I identify which auto I am running? I typically never buy autos so forgive my ignorance.


I think it's stamped into the bottom oil pan. Have a look underneath.
Not shifting into 4th may simply be because the shifter mechanism or cable is not giving proper movement at the trans end (one gear off?)


------------------
Calgary time/temp

3.4L Supercharged 87 GT Click me
Super Duty 4 Indy #163 Click me

IP: Logged
lou_dias
Member
Posts: 5091
From: Warwick, RI
Registered: Jun 2000


Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 65
Rate this member

Report this Post10-10-2014 09:37 AM Click Here to See the Profile for lou_diasClick Here to Email lou_diasSend a Private Message to lou_diasEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks, I'll try to get it up on my ramps this weekend.
IP: Logged
Knight
Member
Posts: 364
From: Tampa, FL
Registered: Apr 2006


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-10-2014 02:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for KnightSend a Private Message to KnightEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
What mounts need to be fabed and to what degree?
IP: Logged
jimbolaya
Member
Posts: 10652
From: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post10-10-2014 06:43 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jimbolayaClick Here to Email jimbolayaSend a Private Message to jimbolayaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am doing this swap, but haven't gotten to mounts yet, but I have been told I use the fiero mounts and only have to drill new mount holes in the cradle. I will report when I find out, or maybe someone else can confirm.

Jim

[This message has been edited by jimbolaya (edited 10-10-2014).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
AL87
Member
Posts: 2578
From: Bradenton, Florida, United States
Registered: Mar 2010


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post10-11-2014 06:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for AL87Click Here to Email AL87Send a Private Message to AL87Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by jimbolaya:

I am doing this swap, but haven't gotten to mounts yet, but I have been told I use the fiero mounts and only have to drill new mount holes in the cradle. I will report when I find out, or maybe someone else can confirm.

Jim



If it uses fiero trans mounts then everything should just bolt right up.
and maybe redrilling new holes because??? (waiting on a confirmation)
IP: Logged
jimbolaya
Member
Posts: 10652
From: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post10-11-2014 08:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jimbolayaClick Here to Email jimbolayaSend a Private Message to jimbolayaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by me:

only have to drill new mount holes in the cradle


 
quote
Originally posted by AL87:


If it uses fiero trans mounts then everything should just bolt right up.
and maybe redrilling new holes because??? (waiting on a confirmation)


The mounts connect to the 4T60 tran without drilling, but you have to redrill holes in the cradle. Thats where they don't line up, or at least I'm told.

Jim

Edit: I'm hoping to know more tomorrow. If the rain holds out, I'll be trying to at least put my 4T40 on the cradle

[This message has been edited by jimbolaya (edited 10-11-2014).]

IP: Logged
jimbolaya
Member
Posts: 10652
From: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post10-11-2014 08:32 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jimbolayaClick Here to Email jimbolayaSend a Private Message to jimbolayaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Here is a link that has some mount info. http://web.archive.org/web/...s.com/tech/440-4T60/ I'm using this as my source.

Jim
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock