Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  3800 SC compressor and R-12

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
3800 SC compressor and R-12 by TbirdMarc
Started on: 04-11-2014 12:56 PM
Replies: 2 (101 views)
Last post by: TbirdMarc on 04-11-2014 04:23 PM
TbirdMarc
Member
Posts: 91
From: Jackson, NJ
Registered: Oct 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-11-2014 12:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TbirdMarcClick Here to visit TbirdMarc's HomePageClick Here to Email TbirdMarcSend a Private Message to TbirdMarcEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Will a 3800 compressor from a '96 work with R-12 or do I need to use R-134a? I have a bunch of R-12 refrigerant and service/recovery equipment for it and would prefer to use over the newer stuff. I do know I would have to have custom lines built to interface the compressor with the firewall lines.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
daniel87fierogt
Member
Posts: 1793
From: Northern California
Registered: Oct 2003


Feedback score:    (10)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 52
Rate this member

Report this Post04-11-2014 01:28 PM Click Here to See the Profile for daniel87fierogtClick Here to Email daniel87fierogtSend a Private Message to daniel87fierogtEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I am using my 3800 compressor with R12 in the system. The R12 actually has less head pressure so it works the compressor not as hard as when it had R134 in it. You have to make sure that you flush the compressor out really good to get out all the PAG oil that it has in it. I used AC flush and ran it through the compressor by hand about 3 times. I then put 2 oz of mineral oil into the compressor before i put the compressor back on the motor.
IP: Logged
TbirdMarc
Member
Posts: 91
From: Jackson, NJ
Registered: Oct 2011


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post04-11-2014 04:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for TbirdMarcClick Here to visit TbirdMarc's HomePageClick Here to Email TbirdMarcSend a Private Message to TbirdMarcEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by daniel87fierogt:

I am using my 3800 compressor with R12 in the system. The R12 actually has less head pressure so it works the compressor not as hard as when it had R134 in it. You have to make sure that you flush the compressor out really good to get out all the PAG oil that it has in it. I used AC flush and ran it through the compressor by hand about 3 times. I then put 2 oz of mineral oil into the compressor before i put the compressor back on the motor.


Thanks for the reply. I will probably go this route. What did you use for the AC lines? Did you have custom made? I think the high pressure switch is already part of the compressor.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock