Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  3800 na fiero has throttle problem

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
3800 na fiero has throttle problem by fierofan25
Started on: 03-05-2014 11:17 AM
Replies: 14 (274 views)
Last post by: ron4130 on 03-19-2014 04:42 PM
fierofan25
Member
Posts: 994
From: ohio
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 11:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofan25Click Here to Email fierofan25Send a Private Message to fierofan25Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have a 2004 3800 na installed in my fiero using a 99 pcm programed by a guy on here. The problem is when I try to give it gas, the car will not move intill half throttle. It will revere up at idle . It is only when I put it in gear to move it. feels like it is laking power
It had the drive by wire throttle body , but I put a 3800 supercharged one on it. Thanks

[This message has been edited by fierofan25 (edited 03-05-2014).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Fadingaway
Member
Posts: 168
From: Hammond, Indiana
Registered: Oct 2012


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 02:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FadingawayClick Here to Email FadingawaySend a Private Message to FadingawayEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Auto or manual
IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17009
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 02:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
1996 - 1998 MAFs <> 1999+ S2 MAFs.

Do you know if your PCM is programmed for the correct MAF? Did this combo ever run correctly and the trouble just came on, or was the trouble always there?

1996 - 1998 MAFs end in -04
1999 S2 MAFs end in -05

The MAFs are different sized. You can't use a 96-98 MAF in a 99+ throttle body and vice versa.
IP: Logged
fierofan25
Member
Posts: 994
From: ohio
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 03:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofan25Click Here to Email fierofan25Send a Private Message to fierofan25Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
it is an automatic. The problem has been there from day one. Thanks
IP: Logged
fierofan25
Member
Posts: 994
From: ohio
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 03:18 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofan25Click Here to Email fierofan25Send a Private Message to fierofan25Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I just looked and it shows 04 as the last numbers on the mafs. I am not 100% sure on the programing, I had sinister performance do it. I think it was for a 99 grand prix. Thanks
IP: Logged
fierofan25
Member
Posts: 994
From: ohio
Registered: Apr 2007


Feedback score:    (8)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 03:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierofan25Click Here to Email fierofan25Send a Private Message to fierofan25Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Just went back and looked at my notes and it says that Ryan programmed it for a 2003 . Thanks
IP: Logged
FIEROFLYER
Member
Posts: 3971
From:
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score:    (13)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 178
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 04:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FIEROFLYERSend a Private Message to FIEROFLYEREdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
04 MAF is for the 98 and older the 05 is for the 99 and newer sounds like you have the wrong MAF code in your PCM unless you informed the programmer of which MAF you have.
IP: Logged
Justinbart
Member
Posts: 3259
From: Flint, MI
Registered: Sep 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 119
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 06:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JustinbartSend a Private Message to JustinbartEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have seen a 98 maf in a 99' throttle body tuned for a 99. Car ran bad until we discovered that.

------------------
Turbo 3800 E85 F23 5spd spec5
10.91@133.1

[This message has been edited by Justinbart (edited 03-05-2014).]

IP: Logged
aaronkoch
Member
Posts: 1643
From: Spokane, WA
Registered: Aug 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 06:29 PM Click Here to See the Profile for aaronkochClick Here to Email aaronkochSend a Private Message to aaronkochEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Worth testing: Unplug the maf and it will default to Speed Density mode. See if unplugging the MAF helps.

------------------


Build thread for my 88 + 3800NA swap

IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17009
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 09:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Go grab a junkyard 99+ throttle body (with 99+ MAF) and see if that fixes the problem.
IP: Logged
Darth Fiero
Member
Posts: 5888
From: Waterloo, Indiana
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 360
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2014 05:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Darth FieroClick Here to visit Darth Fiero's HomePageClick Here to Email Darth FieroSend a Private Message to Darth FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The MAF calibration for the 98-older and 99-newer 3800 MAFs is not that different. Certainly not different enough that having the wrong MAF calibration in the tune would cause a problem like the op is describing - "car won't even move until you give it 1/2 throttle". Sounds like there is a lot more going on here.

Like one of the posters suggested - try unplugging the MAF and see if it runs better with it unplugged and advise. You could simply have a bad MAF sensor.

If unplugging the MAF does not change anything, next thing you should do is check fuel pressure. Let us know what you find (engine running and what it does when you give it throttle and it lacks power).

We will get to the bottom of this.

-ryan

------------------
OVERKILL IS UNDERRATED

Custom GM OBD1 & OBD2 Tuning | Engine Conversions & more | www.gmtuners.com

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Darth Fiero
Member
Posts: 5888
From: Waterloo, Indiana
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 360
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2014 05:14 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Darth FieroClick Here to visit Darth Fiero's HomePageClick Here to Email Darth FieroSend a Private Message to Darth FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Darth Fiero

5888 posts
Member since Oct 2002
I just checked my records and I was told you had an 04 L26 with a 97 L67 throttle body and MAF. The PCM tune I made for you was based on a 2003 Grand Prix 3800 Series 2 N/A base tune with the MAF calibration set up to match a 97 L67 TB and MAF sensor - since that is the throttle body and MAF sensor you are using on this engine. So the MAF calibration should be correct for what you are using.
IP: Logged
ron4130
Junior Member
Posts: 3
From: lebanon,tn.
Registered: Mar 2014


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-07-2014 08:52 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ron4130Click Here to Email ron4130Send a Private Message to ron4130Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
i need a egr tube can anyone help
IP: Logged
Darth Fiero
Member
Posts: 5888
From: Waterloo, Indiana
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 360
Rate this member

Report this Post03-08-2014 02:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Darth FieroClick Here to visit Darth Fiero's HomePageClick Here to Email Darth FieroSend a Private Message to Darth FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by ron4130:

i need a egr tube can anyone help


The EGR tube that connects the base of the EGR to the intake manifold is prone to cracking on these engines, causing a vacuum leak which can make the engine run very poorly (especially at idle). Finding a good used tube is going to be very difficult if not impossible since they are so prone to cracking. Getting a new one is the best option since they are not extremely expensive.

GM part number for the EGR to intake tube is 24508516.
IP: Logged
ron4130
Junior Member
Posts: 3
From: lebanon,tn.
Registered: Mar 2014


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-19-2014 04:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ron4130Click Here to Email ron4130Send a Private Message to ron4130Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
thanks i got a new one
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock