Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Highest setting on the fan not working

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Highest setting on the fan not working by jimbolaya
Started on: 02-28-2014 06:26 PM
Replies: 8 (209 views)
Last post by: Marvin McInnis on 03-06-2014 03:26 PM
jimbolaya
Member
Posts: 10652
From: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2014 06:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jimbolayaClick Here to Email jimbolayaSend a Private Message to jimbolayaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
86 GT. Settings 1-3 work on the fan when I have the heat on. Is this the blower motor or something in the intrument panel?

Jim
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Fiero_Fastback_Freak
Member
Posts: 29
From: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Registered: Aug 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2014 07:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Fiero_Fastback_FreakClick Here to visit Fiero_Fastback_Freak's HomePageSend a Private Message to Fiero_Fastback_FreakEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Mine does the same thing so I would like to know as well
IP: Logged
seajai
Member
Posts: 1534
From: Circle Pines, Minnesota
Registered: Feb 2012


Feedback score:    (42)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 52
Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2014 07:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for seajaiSend a Private Message to seajaiEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The top setting on the fan bypasses the resistor block and runs through the high speed blower relay under the hood. Check for power in and out of the relay. Power for the high speed blower comes from the fuseable link. More than likely your high speed blower relay is bad.



[This message has been edited by seajai (edited 02-28-2014).]

IP: Logged
jimbolaya
Member
Posts: 10652
From: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post03-01-2014 06:21 AM Click Here to See the Profile for jimbolayaClick Here to Email jimbolayaSend a Private Message to jimbolayaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by seajai:

<snip>



Thanks seajai. I'll let you know when I get it sorted out.

Jim
IP: Logged
Justinbart
Member
Posts: 3259
From: Flint, MI
Registered: Sep 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 119
Rate this member

Report this Post03-01-2014 06:32 AM Click Here to See the Profile for JustinbartSend a Private Message to JustinbartEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I had the same problem and just fixed it. The relay was bad.

------------------
Turbo 3800 E85 F23 5spd spec5
10.91@133.1

IP: Logged
jimbolaya
Member
Posts: 10652
From: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Registered: Feb 2007


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 02:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for jimbolayaClick Here to Email jimbolayaSend a Private Message to jimbolayaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I got in the relay today, and it is fixed. Thanks to everyone.

Jim
IP: Logged
84fiero123
Member
Posts: 29950
From: farmington, maine usa
Registered: Oct 2004


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 325
Rate this member

Report this Post03-05-2014 09:39 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 84fiero123Click Here to Email 84fiero123Send a Private Message to 84fiero123Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Actually I think its called a rheostat, if it is the coil thing I am thinking of, if not forget what I said.

Steve

------------------
Technology is great when it works,
and one big pain in the ass when it doesn't



Detroit iron rules all the rest are just toys.

IP: Logged
fierobug
Member
Posts: 276
From: Rochester,New York
Registered: Nov 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2014 02:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for fierobugClick Here to Email fierobugSend a Private Message to fierobugEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks for the info. Just before I put it away I noticed no hi speed. Drove me nuts. Thought it was vacuum problem with switch. Will check it out. It would be nice when and IF IT EVER WARMS UP!!!!!

------------------
FIEROBUG!!!!!!!!!!

IP: Logged
Marvin McInnis
Member
Posts: 11597
From: ~ Kansas City, USA
Registered: Apr 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 226
Rate this member

Report this Post03-06-2014 03:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Marvin McInnisClick Here to visit Marvin McInnis's HomePageSend a Private Message to Marvin McInnisEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by 84fiero123:

Actually I think its called a rheostat, if it is the coil thing ...



Nope. That's a multi-tapped power resistor. It might sometimes be called a ballast resistor.

A rheostat is a continuously-variable, usually wire-wound, power resistor that's value can be changed easily by turning a knob or moving a slider.

[This message has been edited by Marvin McInnis (edited 03-06-2014).]

IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock