Air vs Manual Repairing by nightscar
Started on: 02-11-2014 08:09 PM
Replies: 7 (201 views)
Last post by: tebailey on 02-12-2014 09:02 AM
nightscar

Feedback score: (2)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-11-2014 08:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for nightscarSend a Private Message to nightscarEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Hey Guys,
I have been thinking about this for a few days now and although it may be a dumb question.. I wanted some opinions
When it comes to repairs on a fiero is it safe to use air tools?
Air ratchet, impact gun ect..
For instance..
Changing spark plus
Installing the spring belt tensioner system
Brakes
Pretty much hard to move bolts..
Or is it safer to use manual muscle for removing and tightening?

I would love to use air.. Seeing how the engine compartment is a lil snug..
But I would be afraid of snapping something off
O and if you haven't guessed.. I have never used air tools before lol
Which is why this may sound dumb to some
Thank you guys for any tips and info
Todd aka Nigjtscar

------------------

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
85 SE VIN 9

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-11-2014 08:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 85 SE VIN 9Send a Private Message to 85 SE VIN 9Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I don't have air tools yet either, but my relatively weak Craftsman battery impact wrench has been helpful getting things loose in a hurry. I also got a DeWalt impact wrench that is powerful enough to remove and replace lug nuts, but will also tear them up. It rounded the bleep out of a brake line fitting I'm still trying to remove. It's pretty hard to get these things in where you need them if you're working on a complete car.
cmechmann

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member