Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  "Gravity Fill" Coolant System

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
"Gravity Fill" Coolant System by CarverToo
Started on: 12-10-2013 09:14 AM
Replies: 5 (209 views)
Last post by: CarverToo on 12-10-2013 07:46 PM
CarverToo
Member
Posts: 374
From: Winchester, VA 22603
Registered: Apr 2009


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 09:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for CarverTooClick Here to Email CarverTooSend a Private Message to CarverTooEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I've raised the right rear corner of my Fiero (2.8) to do a gravity fill. I find i can get the fluid into the thermostat fill pipe and heater extension line pretty well at the angle I have the car.

So well in fact, that the fluid is completely filling the overflow/expansion tank up front of the car (to the point it overflows!)? Now I thought that the pressure cap on the radiator would not allow this to happen without pressure in the system.

Am I mistaken?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
seajai
Member
Posts: 1534
From: Circle Pines, Minnesota
Registered: Feb 2012


Feedback score:    (42)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 52
Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 09:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for seajaiSend a Private Message to seajaiEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
sounds like you have a bad cap.

Make sure you read this about the proper type of cap to get: http://home.comcast.net/~fierocave/coolcaps.htm

[This message has been edited by seajai (edited 12-10-2013).]

IP: Logged
n7vrz
Member
Posts: 521
From: Dixon Springs, TN
Registered: Dec 2010


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 11:37 AM Click Here to See the Profile for n7vrzClick Here to Email n7vrzSend a Private Message to n7vrzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I had that happen to me. A new cap fixed that.
IP: Logged
hookdonspeed
Member
Posts: 7979
From: baltimore, md
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (9)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 131
Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 04:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for hookdonspeedClick Here to visit hookdonspeed's HomePageClick Here to Email hookdonspeedSend a Private Message to hookdonspeedEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
yep, x3 you have a bad rad cap.
IP: Logged
Blacktree
Member
Posts: 20299
From: Central Florida
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score:    (11)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 349
Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 06:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlacktreeClick Here to visit Blacktree's HomePageClick Here to Email BlacktreeSend a Private Message to BlacktreeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Either your radiator cap is faulty, or you have the wrong cap.

Some of the parts catalogs list a vented cap for the Fiero. But that's a typo. The Fiero needs a non-vented cap. You can read about that here: http://home.comcast.net/~fierocave/coolcaps.htm
IP: Logged
CarverToo
Member
Posts: 374
From: Winchester, VA 22603
Registered: Apr 2009


Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-10-2013 07:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for CarverTooClick Here to Email CarverTooSend a Private Message to CarverTooEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks folks,

That has to be it. A soon as I can get to the car I'll check.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock