Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Adding a second temperature gauge - anyone done this?

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Adding a second temperature gauge - anyone done this? by gtoformula
Started on: 11-29-2013 11:23 AM
Replies: 3 (206 views)
Last post by: olejoedad on 11-29-2013 01:22 PM
gtoformula
Member
Posts: 733
From: Double Oak, TX USA
Registered: Feb 2012


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-29-2013 11:23 AM Click Here to See the Profile for gtoformulaClick Here to Email gtoformulaSend a Private Message to gtoformulaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I have given up on my factory dash temperature gauge. It moves ... I've adjusted the pointer ... replaced the temp sending unit, but it doesn't read correctly. Rather than pursue attempting to fix an old gauge I'd rather just add a second temperature gauge. I've done this with my GTO and Formula as I don't trust the older gauges. Is it possible to add another gauge to my set up?
1986 GT with 3800SC and spd. I haven't checked out the engine/heads to see if there is a plug that can be removed to install a secondary temperature sensor to run the additional gauge. Does anyone know if the 3800 has another area where I can install a temp sensor? I don't want to remove any engine components to drill and tap a place to install. Luckily, older engines had plugged, threaded intake manifold or head ports that could be used for this.
I've replaced the factory 3800 sending unit with a Delco replacement. Is it possible to use that and just bypass the factory gauge. As I recall from memory (dangerous at my age) there are three wires for the sending unit. One goes to the PCM and I assume that the other two are for the gauge? Is it possible to use these two to operate an aftermarket gauge? The resistance from the sensor would need to be compatible with the aftermarket gauge.
Thanks in advance for your input.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
1fast2m4
Member
Posts: 513
From: Frederick, MD (U.S.A)
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-29-2013 11:43 AM Click Here to See the Profile for 1fast2m4Send a Private Message to 1fast2m4Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If you go for an Autometer electric gauge you just need to drill and tap a 1/4-20 hole to thread the sender into. The autometer gauge won't work with the GM sender. I put mine directly into the top of my 3800 T-Stat housing.

There are also gauges that plug into the OBD-2 port ( Aero Force ) That can display tons of info.

------------------
1986 SE 3800SC/4t65eHD (12.871@104.96) I'll Sell it if you like
1985 GT 3800SC (swap in progress)

IP: Logged
gtoformula
Member
Posts: 733
From: Double Oak, TX USA
Registered: Feb 2012


Feedback score:    (15)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-29-2013 12:31 PM Click Here to See the Profile for gtoformulaClick Here to Email gtoformulaSend a Private Message to gtoformulaEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
My t-stat housing already has a threaded port that has a plug in it. Perhaps I'll take out the plug and determine with bore size and thread it uses. Might get lucky and find a direct bolt in? Anyone know what size and thread goes in this t-stat housing?
IP: Logged
olejoedad
Member
Posts: 14013
From: Clarendon Twp., MI
Registered: May 2004


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 188
Rate this member

Report this Post11-29-2013 01:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for olejoedadClick Here to Email olejoedadSend a Private Message to olejoedadEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The 3-wire sender uses yellow and black for the PCM and light green for the gage.
The gage provides 12v to the sender, the sender varies resistance to ground based on temp.

The factory units (when repaired/calibrated) are probably more accurate than a cheap aftermarket gage.

I would replace the gage or have someone repair/calibrate it.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock