Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  can it be deleted ? 3800sc

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
can it be deleted ? 3800sc by Lou6t4gto
Started on: 11-21-2013 08:10 PM
Replies: 11 (848 views)
Last post by: Lou6t4gto on 11-24-2013 03:20 PM
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8421
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-21-2013 08:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Can the Evaporator Valve and Evaporator Solenoid be (Deleted), the plugs left "unplugged", and the" port" at the throttle body plugged ? Thanks
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Dave E Bouy
Member
Posts: 1437
From: Kettle Point Ontario Canada
Registered: Sep 2004


Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-21-2013 08:22 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Dave E BouyClick Here to Email Dave E BouySend a Private Message to Dave E BouyEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Have run my 3800 s/c without EVAP since i swapped it in back in 2007. Cleans up the engine compartment big time.

DF
IP: Logged
1fast2m4
Member
Posts: 513
From: Frederick, MD (U.S.A)
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-21-2013 08:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 1fast2m4Send a Private Message to 1fast2m4Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I got rid of mine.

------------------
1986 SE 3800SC/4t65eHD (12.871@104.96) I'll Sell it if you like
1985 GT 3800SC (swap in progress)

IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8421
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2013 12:02 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Did you just "Unplug them" and remove the hardware ? Did you just "CAP" the "port" on the throttle body ?
IP: Logged
Darth Fiero
Member
Posts: 5888
From: Waterloo, Indiana
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 360
Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2013 01:44 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Darth FieroClick Here to visit Darth Fiero's HomePageClick Here to Email Darth FieroSend a Private Message to Darth FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Lou6t4gto:

Did you just "Unplug them" and remove the hardware ? Did you just "CAP" the "port" on the throttle body ?


You can remove everything and just plug the vacuum port on the throttle body if you don't need it for anything else.

However, without the EVAP system in place, how are you going to deal with gasoline vapors coming from the gas tank? They'll need to be allowed to vent to the atmosphere so pressure can't build in the tank. And these vapors can get annoying - especially if you park your car in an enclosed area like a garage.

If you wish to have a working EVAP system, all you need is the stock Fiero charcoal canister and the EVAP purge solenoid from the 3800. That's it. The diagram below shows how to hook it up to the 3800:



The charcoal canister can be relocated out of the engine compartment (I mount them just ahead of right wheel well cover, below the stock battery location outside of the engine compartment) and the EVAP purge solenoid can also be mounted there too. All you'll need to do is run the vent line to the canister (as shown above) from the tank and then run the vacuum lines from the canister to the purge valve and then on to the engine from there.

-ryan

------------------
OVERKILL IS UNDERRATED

Custom GM OBD1 & OBD2 Tuning | Engine Conversions & more | www.gmtuners.com

[This message has been edited by Darth Fiero (edited 11-22-2013).]

IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8421
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2013 01:53 AM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
To do it "according to your Diagram", which of the 2 (solenoid/valve) is used ?? thanks
IP: Logged
MulletproofMonk
Member
Posts: 2978
From: Dayton, OH (Bellbrook, OH 45305)
Registered: Oct 2005


Feedback score:    (49)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 78
Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2013 09:50 AM Click Here to See the Profile for MulletproofMonkClick Here to visit MulletproofMonk's HomePageSend a Private Message to MulletproofMonkEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Lou6t4gto:

To do it "according to your Diagram", which of the 2 (solenoid/valve) is used ?? thanks


You should have a little guy that looks like this:


------------------
-Brian

My 87 GT Poly Suspension Upgrade (all pics) thread
Removing the roof panel
My HUD install thread
Modified stock air canister and base to 3.5 inch for 3800na

Isn't it strange that after a bombing, everyone blames the bomber, his upbringing, his environment, his culture, his mental state but … after a shooting, the problem is the gun?

IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8421
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2013 05:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
The solenoid/valve I have,(Doesn't look like the one "pictured"), ( Delco part #5236 2 , large 210) has both hose nipples on the Same End, the other solenoid /switch that was "in line "with it,( Fasco #24506192) has 3 hose nipples on it. I Use the one with only 2, right? Which vacuum Hose goes on What nipple? Thanks, could never do it without your help !
IP: Logged
MulletproofMonk
Member
Posts: 2978
From: Dayton, OH (Bellbrook, OH 45305)
Registered: Oct 2005


Feedback score:    (49)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 78
Rate this member

Report this Post11-23-2013 10:15 AM Click Here to See the Profile for MulletproofMonkClick Here to visit MulletproofMonk's HomePageSend a Private Message to MulletproofMonkEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yes, you should be able to use the one with two. It is probably from the 3800N/A motor, I can snap a picture of mine if needed.
There is lettering on one of the lines that says CAN and it goes to the CANister. The unmarked one goes to the vacuum source either on top/side of the supercharger or throttle body (not under the supercharger snout).

-Brian
IP: Logged
James Bond 007
Member
Posts: 8745
From: California.U.S.A.
Registered: Dec 2002


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 263
Rate this member

Report this Post11-23-2013 10:16 AM Click Here to See the Profile for James Bond 007Send a Private Message to James Bond 007Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by MulletproofMonk:
You should have a little guy that looks like this:



Does this part require an electrical connection? I can see what looks like port for an electricial connection.
IP: Logged
MulletproofMonk
Member
Posts: 2978
From: Dayton, OH (Bellbrook, OH 45305)
Registered: Oct 2005


Feedback score:    (49)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 78
Rate this member

Report this Post11-23-2013 01:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MulletproofMonkClick Here to visit MulletproofMonk's HomePageSend a Private Message to MulletproofMonkEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by James Bond 007:
Does this part require an electrical connection? I can see what looks like port for an electricial connection.


Yes.
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8421
From: Ocala, FL USA
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-24-2013 03:20 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
OK, got it installed, bracketed ( over the trans with the MAP) and wired. Thanks
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock