Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  ignition module new won't start

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
ignition module new won't start by Phirewire
Started on: 11-21-2013 02:26 PM
Replies: 5 (279 views)
Last post by: rogergarrison on 11-23-2013 03:46 PM
Phirewire
Member
Posts: 1485
From: Hamburg, PA
Registered: May 2012


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-21-2013 02:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PhirewireClick Here to Email PhirewireSend a Private Message to PhirewireEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So with my car running rough having starting iasues and being rich I took a guess on the ignition module picked one up put it in started ran till parked then had issues starting wouldn't run more than 10 seconds without dieing. Got a replacment figureing a bad one. Put new one in wouldn't even kick over. Put old in and fired up? Any guesses?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Gall757
Member
Posts: 10651
From: Holland, MI
Registered: Jun 2010


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 88
Rate this member

Report this Post11-21-2013 04:55 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gall757Send a Private Message to Gall757Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
There are a lot of bad ignition modules right out of the box. I recommend Delco

A bad coil can ruin an ignition module.
Bad spark plug wires can ruin an ignition module

[This message has been edited by Gall757 (edited 11-21-2013).]

IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17011
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post11-21-2013 05:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
IP: Logged
rogergarrison
Member
Posts: 49593
From: A Western Caribbean Island/ Columbus, Ohio
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 552
Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2013 05:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rogergarrisonClick Here to Email rogergarrisonSend a Private Message to rogergarrisonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Gall757:

There are a lot of bad ignition modules right out of the box. I recommend Delco

A bad coil can ruin an ignition module.
Bad spark plug wires can ruin an ignition module



All the above from experience...except Delco. I had more Delco failures than Autozone ones. I bought a whole brand new distributor from Chevy for one of my Corvettes. The module was bad out of the box and they wouldnt replace it. I put an Autozone one in it and no more trouble.

IP: Logged
Francis T
Member
Posts: 6620
From: spotsylvania va. usa
Registered: Oct 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 119
Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2013 06:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Francis TClick Here to visit Francis T's HomePageClick Here to Email Francis TSend a Private Message to Francis TEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Putting the below info out there again:

Your’s could be a common problem and don’t cost anything to check.
Try this:
Watch the tach when cranking if it don’t move you're not getting pulses from the distributor. If so, it could be a faulty module in it or more likely simply corroded connectors at the base of the distributor. Reseating those connectors a few times could clean the pins some and also do the same to the connectors on the coil etc. These cars are old, and old connectors corrode. Such can also manifest itself as intermittent misfires, and engine cutouts.

BTW: lots of folks keep replacing modules and coils thinking they are bad because the new ones FIX the problem, when in actuality the fact that they simply unpluged the connectors and repluged them into the new unit cleaned the contacts enough to make it work again, at least for a while. It's smart, to replace those old connectors with new ones.
BTW: Cliphouse has those connectors
IP: Logged
rogergarrison
Member
Posts: 49593
From: A Western Caribbean Island/ Columbus, Ohio
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 552
Rate this member

Report this Post11-23-2013 03:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for rogergarrisonClick Here to Email rogergarrisonSend a Private Message to rogergarrisonEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
2nd that too. Both the coil connector and the one that plugs onto the module for a few bucks. I also like putting some dialectric grease in the connectors too so they dont corrode again.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock