Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  86 gt tach in a 85 doesnt work after install but original 85 works

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
86 gt tach in a 85 doesnt work after install but original 85 works by pontiacfierokid1985
Started on: 11-04-2013 02:26 PM
Replies: 6 (91 views)
Last post by: pontiacfierokid1985 on 11-04-2013 09:15 PM
pontiacfierokid1985
Member
Posts: 723
From: new bedford ma
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 02:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for pontiacfierokid1985Click Here to visit pontiacfierokid1985's HomePageClick Here to Email pontiacfierokid1985Send a Private Message to pontiacfierokid1985Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Ok im confused i pulled the guages out of a 86 gt at a local bone yard just the fuel/temp guage and the tach already have the 120 speedo. The fuel and temp guage work fine but the tach just wants to stay up by x1000 rpm reading what did i do wrong ???? Or am i missing something else to make it work
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Arns85GT
Member
Posts: 11147
From: London, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 200
Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 04:09 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Arns85GTClick Here to Email Arns85GTSend a Private Message to Arns85GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
It is likely dead. They are a plug and play, if they are working

Arn
IP: Logged
Arns85GT
Member
Posts: 11147
From: London, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 200
Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 04:12 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Arns85GTClick Here to Email Arns85GTSend a Private Message to Arns85GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

Arns85GT

11147 posts
Member since Jul 2003
If you wanted it due to the backlit feature, I overcame that difficulty and kept the 85 tach by cutting slots along the top edge of the casing to allow the light from inside the dash unit to shine onto the face of the tach. This has worked very well. I use it with an 86 speedo and an 86 fuel/heat unit

Arn
IP: Logged
Patrick
Member
Posts: 30124
From: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Registered: Apr 99


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 442
Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 04:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickClick Here to Email PatrickSend a Private Message to PatrickEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post

I got a 5-spd '88 Formula over the summer that came without an instrument cluster. I figured it wasn't really a problem as I had three or four extra instument clusters here originally from V6 Fieros.

Would you believe that not one of the tachs work properly. All the rest of the gauges are fine, but the tachs all either read too high, too low, or nothing at all.
IP: Logged
pontiacfierokid1985
Member
Posts: 723
From: new bedford ma
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 05:41 PM Click Here to See the Profile for pontiacfierokid1985Click Here to visit pontiacfierokid1985's HomePageClick Here to Email pontiacfierokid1985Send a Private Message to pontiacfierokid1985Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
That sucks cause i really want the 86-88 tach looks so much better then the 85
IP: Logged
Arns85GT
Member
Posts: 11147
From: London, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Jul 2003


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 200
Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 06:40 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Arns85GTClick Here to Email Arns85GTSend a Private Message to Arns85GTEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I would say to check the tach filter except the old one is working.

Arn
IP: Logged
pontiacfierokid1985
Member
Posts: 723
From: new bedford ma
Registered: Nov 2009


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 09:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for pontiacfierokid1985Click Here to visit pontiacfierokid1985's HomePageClick Here to Email pontiacfierokid1985Send a Private Message to pontiacfierokid1985Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Yea i found another guage cluster another local yard has one he has its a se 86 that has the 85 speedo but it has the 2.8 in it he has it doesnt have the oil pressure guage under the tach so i know thats the right one im gonna pick it up on veterans day next week
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock