Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Odometer not working

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Odometer not working by PatrickTRoof
Started on: 11-04-2013 02:26 PM
Replies: 4 (501 views)
Last post by: PatrickTRoof on 11-18-2013 04:35 PM
PatrickTRoof
Member
Posts: 547
From: Baltimore, MD, USA
Registered: May 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 02:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickTRoofClick Here to Email PatrickTRoofSend a Private Message to PatrickTRoofEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
My odometer and trip counter were not working, and today the trip counter magically started working again, but not the odometer. It's worth noting that I had removed the cruise control components from under the hood when I did my engine replacement, and did not put them back (I have no idea where they are now...) I read on another thread that the cruise has something to do with the odometer working or not. Any clues?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
82-T/A [At Work]
Member
Posts: 18130
From: Florida USA
Registered: Aug 2002


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 185
Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 03:33 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 82-T/A [At Work]Send a Private Message to 82-T/A [At Work]Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by PatrickTRoof:

My odometer and trip counter were not working, and today the trip counter magically started working again, but not the odometer. It's worth noting that I had removed the cruise control components from under the hood when I did my engine replacement, and did not put them back (I have no idea where they are now...) I read on another thread that the cruise has something to do with the odometer working or not. Any clues?



Not in the Fiero...

In other cars of similar age (or older), the speedometer (and odometer) are driven by a cable which may often first connect to the cruise control. In the Fiero however, the speedometer and odometer are both driven by voltage input. Both the odometer and speedometer have separated motors which drive the gauges (and the wheel roll). If the connection is bad, the speedometer (or odometer, or both) will stop working. My guess is that the connection is bad, which would explain why one of them just randomly started working, but the other still does not.

Try taking out the gauges and seeing if the motors move freely... the motors look like this:

(K for kilometers, and M for miles)




Although I'm 100% American, I thought it would be cool to get the metric gauges, so I swapped in Canadian gauges into my car and kept the MILES motor for the odometer, but swapped out the KPH motor for the speedometer.




EDIT: Accidentally posted this in the wrong thread... there are two people with gauge problems, but the info should be useful either way. Sorry!

[This message has been edited by 82-T/A [At Work] (edited 11-04-2013).]

IP: Logged
PatrickTRoof
Member
Posts: 547
From: Baltimore, MD, USA
Registered: May 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 05:37 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickTRoofClick Here to Email PatrickTRoofSend a Private Message to PatrickTRoofEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks for the info, I will check it out! And it does look pretty bad-A with a dial that goes up to 180, even if it is just kilometers!
IP: Logged
82-T/A [At Work]
Member
Posts: 18130
From: Florida USA
Registered: Aug 2002


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 185
Rate this member

Report this Post11-04-2013 07:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 82-T/A [At Work]Send a Private Message to 82-T/A [At Work]Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by PatrickTRoof:

Thanks for the info, I will check it out! And it does look pretty bad-A with a dial that goes up to 180, even if it is just kilometers!



Yeah, that was pretty much why I did it. I can still keep the American miles on it, but it works on KPH... might even keep me from speeding too. It still has MPH in smaller numbers just in case I need to reference it.

The other gauges are different too. You'll notice that the fuel gauge doesn't say empty or full, it just has an empty-circle or a full circle. The temperature gauge is also in celcius. The AUX gauges are also a little different. In this case, I kept the VOLTS, but decided to swap out the PSI for oil pressure with BAR units.

IP: Logged
PatrickTRoof
Member
Posts: 547
From: Baltimore, MD, USA
Registered: May 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-18-2013 04:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for PatrickTRoofClick Here to Email PatrickTRoofSend a Private Message to PatrickTRoofEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
You wouldn't happen to have a spare odometer motor for miles, would you? I have no money, but you would have my undying gratitude, and I have a plethora of 2.8 parts if you would like to make a trade.
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock