Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Maybe a silly question 3800Sc computer

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


next newest topic | next oldest topic
Maybe a silly question 3800Sc computer by Lou6t4gto
Started on: 11-03-2013 01:05 PM
Replies: 9 (246 views)
Last post by: Lou6t4gto on 11-06-2013 04:04 PM
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 01:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I've got a fully rebuilt STOCK 3800SC, in the process of wiring 1998. if a 1998 ecm ran the 3800SC in the "donor car", why wouldn't it run the stock engine in the fiero ? And if theres no way it will, whats the "going rate" for programming it ? (who does it) still has egr, evap, automatic, ac, PS,ect. thanks
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
MstangsBware
Member
Posts: 11509
From: TEXAS
Registered: Mar 2002


Feedback score:    (108)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 459
Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 01:23 PM Click Here to See the Profile for MstangsBwareClick Here to Email MstangsBwareSend a Private Message to MstangsBwareEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Lou6t4gto:

I've got a fully rebuilt STOCK 3800SC, in the process of wiring 1998. if a 1998 ecm ran the 3800SC in the "donor car", why wouldn't it run the stock engine in the fiero ? And if theres no way it will, whats the "going rate" for programming it ? (who does it) still has egr, evap, automatic, ac, PS,ect. thanks


98 PCM will run the 3800 in a Fiero how it is stock but u will have codes set for the parts not used in the swap into the Fiero. If u want them tuned out then contact Nosrac as he can set u up with that.
IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 01:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
ahhh, ok, thanks
IP: Logged
Darth Fiero
Member
Posts: 5888
From: Waterloo, Indiana
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 360
Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 05:46 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Darth FieroClick Here to visit Darth Fiero's HomePageClick Here to Email Darth FieroSend a Private Message to Darth FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
If you have a PCM from a 98 Grand Prix, it should not have VATS enabled from the factory which means using this PCM in a Fiero swap (stock/as-is without reprogramming) should allow the swap to start and run. But you will have some codes set for emissions and other equipment that will likely be missing since I would assume you won't transfer absolutely everything from the donor car into the Fiero when you do the swap.

If you have a PCM from any other 98 car, it will likely have VATS enabled and will not run after the transplant without having it reprogrammed. This is something I do for mail orders for as little as $90 + return shipping/options.

-ryan

------------------
OVERKILL IS UNDERRATED

Custom GM OBD1 & OBD2 Tuning | Engine Conversions & more | www.gmtuners.com

IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 06:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
and HOW would I Know if the computer is From a 1998 GP ? I have a 98 and a 99 3800sc ecm, but don't remember exactly What I pulled them from.
IP: Logged
1fast2m4
Member
Posts: 513
From: Frederick, MD (U.S.A)
Registered: Feb 2013


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 08:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for 1fast2m4Send a Private Message to 1fast2m4Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
ZZP did mine.

It's most likely VATS that is your hold up.

------------------
1986 SE 3800SC/4t65eHD (12.871@104.96) I'll Sell it if you like
1985 GT 3800SC (swap in progress)

IP: Logged
phonedawgz
Member
Posts: 17011
From: Green Bay, WI USA
Registered: Dec 2009


Feedback score:    (23)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 290
Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 08:19 PM Click Here to See the Profile for phonedawgzClick Here to visit phonedawgz's HomePageClick Here to Email phonedawgzSend a Private Message to phonedawgzEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Have Darth program your PCM.

Even if yours has the VATs disabled, you will still have errors. Your MIL (Malfunction Indicator Lamp) will be on all the time. You will never know if it is being caused by a new trouble or one that is coming from the multitude of things that aren't hooked up on your Fiero.

Figure out what options you want enabled, which ones you want disabled and get it done.
IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-03-2013 11:44 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Thanks
IP: Logged
Darth Fiero
Member
Posts: 5888
From: Waterloo, Indiana
Registered: Oct 2002


Feedback score: (5)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 360
Rate this member

Report this Post11-06-2013 03:25 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Darth FieroClick Here to visit Darth Fiero's HomePageClick Here to Email Darth FieroSend a Private Message to Darth FieroEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by Lou6t4gto:

and HOW would I Know if the computer is From a 1998 GP ? I have a 98 and a 99 3800sc ecm, but don't remember exactly What I pulled them from.


The only way to know for sure what car the PCM came from (if it has not yet been reprogrammed by a tuner) is to read the VIN number and OSID number that is stored in it. A very good scan tool should be able to tell you this information, but most cheaper ones will not.
IP: Logged
Lou6t4gto
Member
Posts: 8436
From: sarasota
Registered: May 2008


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-06-2013 04:04 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Lou6t4gtoClick Here to Email Lou6t4gtoSend a Private Message to Lou6t4gtoEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
#16236757 and #09361735 are what I have. I guess I'll send one out when I get the $$. Thanks
IP: Logged

next newest topic | next oldest topic

All times are ET (US)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock